Map of Andhra Pradesh Srikaulam Vizianagaram Visakhapatnam East Godavari West Godavari Krishna Guntur Prakasam Sri Potti Sriramulu Nellore Y.S.R Chittoor Anantapur Kurnool TAMIL NADU KARNATAKA TELANGANA MAHARASHTRA CHHATTISGARH ODISHA
Print Email Save
*Map showing major roads, railways, rivers, national highways, etc. Disclaimer
Andhra Pradesh Location Map Andhra Pradesh District Map Andhra City Map Andhra Pradesh Tehsil Map
Andhra Pradesh Location MapAndhra Pradesh District MapAndhra Pradesh City Map Andhra Pradesh Tehsil Map
Andhra Pradesh Road Network Map Andhra Pradesh Rail Network Map Andhra Pradesh after Formation of Telangana Andhra Pradesh Travel Map
Andhra Pradesh Road Network
Andhra Pradesh Rail Network
Andhra Pradesh after Formation of Telangana Andhra Pradesh Travel Map

Andhra Pradesh lies along the eastern coast of southern India. It shares its boundary with Telangana to the north-west, Chhattisgarh to the north, Odisha to the north-east, Tamil Nadu in the south, Karnataka in the west, and the Bay of Bengal to the east. Andhra Pradesh is the seventh-largest state of India by area and the tenth-largest in terms of population. It has the second-longest coastline (974 km) in India after Gujarat.

Following the state's bifurcation in 2014, Hyderabad has been serving as the shared capital of Andhra Pradesh and Telangana. The city of Hyderabad is famous for its rich cultural heritage. Andhra Pradesh has thirteen districts after the bifurcation. Some of the famous districts of the state are Anantapur, Chittoor, Guntur, Nellore, Kurnool, and Visakhapatnam, (which is currently serving as the administrative capital of Andhra Pradesh). However, Amaravati and Kurnool serve as legislative and judicial capitals of the state. Andhra Pradesh will have its de facto capital at Amravati in a couple of years.

The history of Andhra Pradesh goes back to the Vedic period. Its name is mentioned in the ancient text Aitareya Brahmana. There is evidence to suggest that the coastal kingdom of Andhra Pradesh thrived during the rule of Satavahanas. Inland and maritime trade flourished in the region between the Godavari and Krishna Rivers. The currency was used at that time to facilitate barter. There is also proof that Buddhism flourished here when the Ikshvakus of Nagarjunakonda came to power. Although the rulers were devoted to Vedic ritualism, Buddhism flourished; as is evident from the several Stupas, Chaityas and Viharas found here.

The Andhra region came under the control of several dynasties such as the Kakatiya Dynasty, the Reddy Dynasty, the Vijayanagar Empire as well as the Mughal rule, and then the British Empire in 1792. After independence, the princely state of Hyderabad became a part of India in 1948. Andhra Pradesh was the first state to be formed on the linguistic basis in 1956 through the State Reorganisation Act.

The Telangana Movement began after that, and Andhra Pradesh then bifurcated in 2014, and Telangana was born as a new state.

There are several places to visit in this beautiful state. The city of Visakhapatnam is an attractive beach destination with breathtaking lakes, valleys, caves, and hill ranges. The Araku Valley is a famous hill station rich in biodiversity; it has coffee plantations and waterfalls. Horsley Hills is another well-known hill station in the state. Other places to visit here include Lake Gangotri, TU 142 AirCraft Museum, and others.

Andhra Pradesh is also home to Kolleru Lake, one of the largest freshwater lakes in India. It lies between the Krishna and Godavari Delta. There are various religious and pilgrimage sites as well, such as Tirupati, which is visited by millions of devotees year after year. Nellore also has immense spiritual significance. Vijaywada is famous for its beautiful heritage sites, caves, and hills. Chittor is an agricultural town known for its hills, rivers, and forts as well. It is home to the Nagari Hills, Horsley Hills, and Kaundinya Wildlife Sanctuary.

Kurnool has several caves and forts; mountain ranges surround the city. Anantapur is famous for diamond mining. The state is home to Thimmamma Marrimanu, the banyan tree, considered as one of the largest tree specimens worldwide.

Andhra Pradesh is famous in terms of its mineral resources. Several significant industries in Andhra Pradesh include Information Technology, Biotechnology, Pharmaceuticals, and Real Estate. The official language of the state is Telugu. Urdu is the co-official language.

Map of Andhra Pradesh

The map of Andhra Pradesh shows that the state has 13 districts. Given below are the names of all these districts in Andhra Pradesh and several important information about these districts:

DistrictDistrict CodePopulation (2011)HeadquartersArea (km2;)Total FemaleTotal Male
East GodavariEG5151549Kakinada1080725821302569419
West GodavariWG3934782Eluru774219715981963184

A district magistrate is appointed to govern each district in the state.

Andhra Pradesh State Information

Capital(Present) - Hyderabad (Proposed) Amaravati
Date of forrnation1st Nov 1956
GovernorBiswabhusan Harichandan
Chief MinisterY. S. Jagan Mohan Reddy
Tourist attractionsAraku Valley and Borra Caves in Vishakhapatnam, Nagarjuna Konda in Nagarjunasagar, Amaravati in Vijaywada, Lord Venkateswara Temple in Tirupati
FestivalsMahaSivaratri, Sivaratri, Vinayak Chaviti, Pedda Panduga
Major dance and music formsKuchipudi, Bhamakalpam, Dappu
Arts and craftsKalamkari cotton, the Nakashis of Cheriyal village paint vibrantly coloured scrolls.
LanguagesTelegu, Urdu, English
Size162,975 km2 (62,925 sq mi) (Area rank 7th)
Population (Census 2011)49,386,799 (Rank 10th)
RiversGodavari, Krishna, Penneru, Kundu, Arani, Sileru River and so on
State animalBlackbuck
State birdIndian roller
State flowerWater lily
State treeNeem
Major cropsJowar, rice, bajra
No. of District13

Maps in Other Regional Languages

All Civil Services Examination aspirants out there! Learn more about the Indian history on our resource- oriented platform, Maps of India.
Last Updated on : May 11, 2021