Major Cities of India

India Map with Cities

Map of India Showing Major Cities Srinagar City Map Jammu City Map Amritsar City Map Jalandhar City Map Ludhiana City Map Shimla City Map Chandigarh City Map Patiala City Map Ganganagar City Map Sirsa City Map Karnal City Map Haridwar City Map Muzaffarrnagar Meerut City Map Moradabad City Map Sonipat City Map Delhi City Map Ghaziabad Gurgaon City Map Faridabad Bikaner City Map Bareilly City Map Sikar City Map Alwar City Map Al;igarh Ajmer City Map Agra City Map Prayagraj Map Ahmedabad City Map Ahmadnagar City Map Amravati City Map Akola City Map Alappuzha City Map Asansol City Map Durgapur City Map Aizawl City Map Bharatpur City Map Mathura Jaipur City Map Jodhpur City Map Pali City Map Bhilwara City Map Kota City Map Gwailor City Map Jhansi City Map Etawah City Map Kanpur City Map Lucknow City Map Gorakhpur City Map Chapra Patna City Map Purnia City Map Gangtok City Map Guwahati City Map Itanagar City Map Kohima City Map Imphal City Map Agartala City Map Bhagalpur Barddhaman City Map Shillong City Map Gaya City Map Varanasi City Map Mirzapur Dhanbad City Map Ranchi City Map Raipur City Map Jamshedpur City Map Kolkata City Map Rourkela City Map Haldia City Map Cuttack City Map Bhubaneshwar City Map Bhilai City Map Udaipur Gandhinagar Ratlam Ujjain Bhopal Jabalpur Satna City Map Rewa Bilaspur City Map Korba City Map Kharagpur Mau Rae Bareli Farrukhabad Bahraich Shahjahanpur Katni Map Jamnagar City Map Rajkot City Map Junagadh Bhavnagar City Map Vadodra City Map Surat City Map Dewas City Map Indore City Map Khandwa City Map Nagpur City Map Burhanpur City Map Malegaon City Map Jalna Pune Mumbai City Map Chandrapur City Map Nanded City Map Latur City Map Sangli City Map Kolhapur City Map Panaji City Map Kalaburagi Map Bidar City Map Warangal City Map Vizianagaram City Map Visakhapatnam City Map Hyderabad City Map Rajamundry City Map Vijayawada City Map Guntur City Map Vijayapura Map Bellary City Map Tumkur City Map Tirupati City Map Vellore City Map Chennai City Map Manglore City Map Bangalore City Map Mysore City Map Kozikode City Map Salem City Map Tiruchchirapalli City Map Thanjavur Madurai City Map Tiruneveli City Map Nagercoil City Map Kollam City Map Kochi City Map Thrissur City Map Puducherry Dindigul City Map Nellore City Map Shimoga City Map Anantpur City Map Hospet City Map Belgaum City Map Kurnool City Map Machilipatnam City Map Eluru City Map Kakinada City Map Raichur City Map Karimnagar City Map Solapur City Map Nizamabad City Map Brahmapur City Map Dhule City Map Jalgaon City Map Darbhanga City Map Rajganj City Map Ingraj Bazar Baharampur City Map Siliguri City Map Leh Map Dehradun Map Noida Map Howrah Map Sagar Map Amaravati Map Thiruvananthapuram Map Karaikai (Puducherry) Mahe (Puducherry) Coimbatore Map Hubballi Map Yanam (Puducherry) Navi Mumbai Map Thane Map Nashik Map Aurangabad Map Chhindwara Map Port Blair
For more details visit Cities in India
For more information contact : [email protected]

*Map Showing International Airports in India.

India is one of the oldest civilizations in the world with a kaleidoscopic variety and rich cultural heritage. It is a wonder and an example of a wholesome democratic existence in the world. It covers an area of 32,87,263 sq. km (1,269,346 sq mi), extending from the snow-covered Himalayan heights to the tropical rain forests of the south. As the 7th largest country in the world, India stands apart from the rest of Asia, marked off as it is by mountains and the sea, which give the country a distinct geographical entity. Bounded by the Great Himalayas in the north, it stretches southwards and at the Tropic of Cancer, tapers off into the Indian Ocean between the Bay of Bengal on the east and the Arabian Sea on the west. It has a land frontier of about 15,200 km. The total length of the coastline of the mainland, Lakshadweep Islands and Andaman & Nicobar Islands is 7,516.6 km. Today, India is not only a rich source of art and cultural diversity to enjoy and learn from but also it is excelling in various other domains such as science, businesses and even space technology.

The Republic of India is a country in South Asia. It has a population of more than 1.2 billion and is ranked the second most populous country after China. Post the abrogation of Article 370 in 2019, India has 28 states and 8 union territories.

Cities are classified into several categories based on their population

  • 50,00,000 - above: Megacity
  • 10,000,00-4999999: Metropolis
  • 500,000-999999: Sub Metropolis
  • 100,000-499999: Big Town
  • 40,000-999999: Small Town
  • 10,000-3,9999: Big Village
  • 5000-9999: Small Village
  • 4999- Below: Hamlet

List of major cities in different states of India:

StateCapitalMajor Cities
Andhra PradeshHyderabad (De jure - 2 June 2024) Amaravati (proposed)Visakhapatnam, Vijayawada, Guntur, Nellore and Tirupati
Arunachal PradeshItanagarTawang, Bhismaknagar, Pasighat, Ziro and Bomdila
AssamDispurGuwahati, Tezpur, Dibrugarh, Silchar and North Lakhimpur
BiharPatnaGaya, Biharsharif, Darbhanga and Bhagalpur
ChhattisgarhRaipurBilaspur, Korba, Durg-Bhilainagar, Raigarh and Rajnandgaon
GoaPanajiVasco-da-Gama, Ponda, Margao, Mapusa and Goa Velha
GujaratGandhinagarAhmedabad, Surat, Rajkot, Junagadh and Vadodara
HaryanaChandigarh (Shared with Punjab)Faridabad, Gurgaon, Sonipat, Panipat and Ambala
Himachal PradeshShimlaDharamshala, Mandi, Solan, Bilaspur and Chamba
JharkhandRanchiBokaro Steel City, Jamshedpur, Deoghar, Hazaribagh and Dhanbad
KarnatakaBengaluruMysore, Davangere, Mangalore, Hubli-Dharwad and Belgaum
KeralaThiruvananthapuramKochi, Kozhikode, Thrissur and Malappuram
Madhya PradeshBhopalIndore, Gwalior, Jabalpur, Ujjain and Sagar
MaharashtraMumbaiPune, Nagpur, Nashik, Aurangabad and Solapur
ManipurImphalBishnupur, Ukhrul, Tamenglong, Chandel and Senapati
MeghalayaShillongCherrapunji, Tura, Jowai, Baghmara and Nongpoh
MizoramAizawlLunglei, Serchhip, Champhai, Tuipang and Mamit
NagalandKohimaTuensang, Zunheboto, Mokokchung, Kiphire Sadar and Phek
OdishaBhubaneswarRourkela, Cuttack, Brahmapur, Puri and Sambalpur
PunjabChandigarh (Shared with Haryana)Amritsar, Jalandhar, Ludhiana, Patiala and Kapurthala
RajasthanJaipurBikaner, Jaisalmer, Jodhpur, Udaipur and Ajmer
SikkimGangtokNamchi, Gyalshing, Mangan and Rabdentse
Tamil NaduChennaiTiruchirappalli, Madurai, Erode, Vellore and Coimbatore
TelanganaHyderabad (Shared with Andhra Pradesh)Warangal, Nizamabad, Karimnagar, Adilabad and Khammam
TripuraAgartalaAmarpur, Kumarghat, Udaipur, Gakulnagar and Kunjaban
Uttar PradeshLucknowNoida, Varanasi, Allahabad, Agra and Kanpur
UttarakhandDehradunHaridwar, Roorkee, Rishikesh, Kashipur and Haldwani
West BengalKolkataDarjeeling, Siliguri, Asansol, Howrah and Durgapur

Union TerritoriesCapital
Andaman and Nicobar IslandsPort Blair
Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and DiuDaman
NCT of DelhiNew Delhi
Jammu and KashmirSrinagar (Summer) and Jammu (Winter)

Last Updated on: November 02, 2020