Click any State on the map and get the Detailed State Map

Political Map of India

India Political Map Himachal Pradesh Map Punjab Map Haryana Map Delhi Map Uttarakhand Map Uttarpradesh Map Rajasthan Map Gujarat Map Madhya Pradesh Dadra & Nagar Haveli Map Daman & Diu Map Maharashtra Map Goa Map Karnataka Map Kerala Map Tamilnadu Map Puducherry Map Karaikal ( Puducherry ) Mahe ( Puducherry ) Yaman ( Puducherry ) Andhrapradesh Map Telangana Map Odisha Map Chhattisgarh Map Bihar Map Jharkhand Map Westbengal Map Sikkim Map Meghalaya Map Assam Map Tripura Map Mizoram Map Manipur Map Nagaland Map Arunachal Pradesh Map Jammu and kashmir Map Ladakh Map Lakshadweep Andaman-nicobar-islands Chandigarh
Print Email Save
* The India Political map shows all the states and union territories of India along with their capital cities. Disclaimer
India is officially known as the Republic of India. It comprises of a total of 28 states along with eight union territories. India is the second most populated country in the world and the world’s largest democracy. The country’s coastline measures 7,517 kilometres in length, out of which 5,423 kilometres belong to peninsular India, and 2,094 kilometres belong to Andaman, Nicobar and Lakshadweep island chains. Additionally, the Indian naval hydrographic charts along with mainland coastline include 43% of sandy beaches, 36% of mudflats, marshy shores of 10% and rocky shores of 11%.

  Broadly, India is divided into six major zones: East India, West India, North India, South India, Northeast India and Central India.

Eastern India includes the states of BiharJharkhandOdishaWest Bengal and a union territory Andaman and Nicobar Islands. The total population of these states is 226,925,195. The Eastern zone covers a total area of 418,323 sq km Bengali is the dominant language in the state of West Bengal. In contrast, Odia and Hindi are the principal languages in the states of Odisha, Bihar and Jharkhand. English, Maithili, Nepali and Urdu are other languages spoken in Eastern India. 

  The Western region of India covers a total area of 508, 052 sq km Some of the popular states of western India are GujaratGoa and Maharashtra Union Territory of Dadra & Nagar Haveli and Daman & Diu. Mumbai, the financial capital of India, is the capital city of Maharashtra. The states of western India have a prosperous economy with a relatively high standard of living. Official languages of the Western Indian states are Marathi, Gujarati, Konkani and English.

The six states of North India are Himachal Pradesh, Uttar Pradesh, RajasthanUttarakhandPunjabHaryana with union territories of  Delhi (National Capital Territory), Chandigarh Ladakh and Jammu and Kashmir. The economy of northern India is growing at a fast pace. The most populous cities of North India are New Delhi, Lucknow, and Chandigarh.

Southern India covers states like Tamil Nadu, KarnatakaKeralaAndhra Pradesh and Telangana with the union territories of Lakshadweep. and Puducherry. Over 19.31% of India’s total area is occupied by these states and union territories. Bengaluru, the capital of Karnataka, is known as the ‘Silicon Valley of India’ because it is India’s leading exporter in the IT sector. Most populated cities of South India are Bengaluru, Hyderabad, Chennai, Coimbatore, Cochin and Mysore.

Northeast India includes the seven sister states of Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Meghalaya, Tripura, Mizoram, Manipur and Nagaland. The Himalayan state of Sikkim and Jalpaiguri Division are two important parts of northeast India. There is a great ethnic and religious diversity within the seven sister states. The Central zone of India primarily refers to Madhya Pradesh and Chhattisgarh.

Maps in Other Regional Languages

Last Updated on: February 16, 2022

  View India Map in