Bharatpur Jats

The Bharatpur Jats are an integral part of the history of the city, which is situated in the state of Rajasthan . The Jats of Bharatpur became a very significant part of the political life of the place in the medieval age.

In the 17th century, the Jats started revolting against the Mughal rule of the region. These Jats belonged to the two villages of Thoon and Sinsini. The then Jat leaders were Bhajjasingh and his son Rajaram.

The fight for independence of the Jats at Bharatpur reached a higher level in the 18th century. The Jat leaders like Badan Singh and Churaman united all the Jats against the Mughal rule.

The Mughals got Churaman murdered in the year 1721 and attempted to reduce the power of the Jats. However, they were not successful as Badan Singh, who was Churaman's brother, led the Jats following Churaman's death.

Other than the Mughals, the Rajputs were also at war with the Bharatpur Jats. However, for both the clans, the Mughals were the biggest enemies.

In the 1750s, the Jats were ready for a fresh attack against the Mughals. The Mughals were left with no way other than acknowledging the power of the Jats in Bharatpur. Badan Singh was given the title 'Raja' by Jai Singh II and established him in the town of Deeg.

Raja Suraj Mal was the successor of Badan Singh. He further strengthened the Jat empire and built a number of palaces and forts. The Bharatpur Fort and the Deeg Palace are worth mention. Raja Suraj Mal was succeeded by his son called Jawahar Singh. The British finally signed an agreement with the Jats in 1818.

In the year 1825, Lord Combermere revolted against Lohargarh and sieged it after a month-long fight. Finally Bharatpur came under British rule.

Last Updated on 23/07/2012