Maharajas of Bharatpur

The maharajas of Bharatpur are a very important part of the history of the place. These Bharatpur maharajas belonged to the dynasty of the Jats, who started ruling in this region as early as the 17th century. The prominent maharajas of Bharatpur are Badan Singh, Surat Mal and Jawahar Singh.

The first maharaja of Bharatpur - Rajasthan was Badan Singh. He was a Jat ruler of the 18th century. Though the Jats rose to power under the leadership of Bhajjasingh and Rajaram, the Mughals decided to acknowledge the power of the Jats during the reign of Badan Singh.

In the 1750s, the Jats became strong enough to plan an attack on the Mughals. The Mughals could not think of a better solution than recognizing the Jat supremacy. Therefore, they gave the title 'raja' to Badan Singh and settled him in the town of Deeg. It was under the leadership of Badan Singh and Churaman that the Jats were unified against the Mughal power. Though the Mughals got Churaman killed, they could not reduce the power of Badan Singh.

The successor of Badan Singh was Suraj Mal. He was the son of Badan Singh. Suraj Mal is one of the most important maharajas in Bharatpur. He further empowered the Jats and established quite a few beautiful forts and palaces. The Bharatpur Fort and the Deeg Palace are still very well known names in the list of historical structures of the region. The successor of Surat Mall was Jawahar Singh, who was his son. Ultimately, Bharatpur went into the hands of the Mughals.

Last Updated on 23/07/2012



Which States Share Boundary with China?India, in total, shares land borders with 6 sovereign countries. China is one of those. Below are the Indian states which share borders with the country. 1. Jammu and Kashmir This northern state of India is mostly located in the Himalayan mountains. It shares a… Read More...
Which States Share Boundaries with Pakistan? There are four states that share a border with Pakistan, namely, Jammu and Kashmir, Punjab, Rajasthan, and Gujarat. The India Pakistan Border is quite intriguing. Since India has installed 1,50,000 flood lights on… Read More...
Which Places in India Still Largely Speak Sanskrit?Sanskrit is considered as Dev Bhasha, the language of Gods. It has a history of around 3500 years. It used to be a primary language of ancient India. Its earliest form Vedic Sanskrit, was prevalent from 1500 500 BCE. However, it is fading… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow for border and boundary demarcations