Yadav Dance of Bundelkhand

Yadav Dance of Bundelkhand is a major folk variation of Gwalior which is performed during the pious festival of Diwali. Aptly accompanied by rhythmic instruments like that of dholak, mradang, ramtula, jhanz, manzira and dhapli Yadav Dance is performed in the district of Gwalior from a very long time.

The Yadav Dance of Bundelkhand is performed along with couplets of songs. The performers of Yadav Dance of Bundelkhand make circles while dancing. Also, songs are sung by the dancers which are mainly of one to two couplets. In the initial stages the songs are sung in a low pace. But as the dance progresses the song gathers momentum. The unique trait of the songs used for the Yadav Dance of Bundelkhand is that sometimes these are presented in question and answer form.

At times musical instruments are also used while performing theYadav Dance of Bundelkhand of Gwalior. However, such instruments are played after atleast two song lines are sung by the performers.

While performing the Yadav Dance of Bundelkhand the dancers usually wear a particular type of costume. Dhotis above the knee length, turban and shorts are worn by the performers of Yadav Dance of Bundelkhand in Gwalior. There are several accessories with which the dancers of Yadav Dance adorn themselves. Peacock feathers are one such accessory.

Since Diwali is the main occasion on which the Yadav Dance of Bundelkhand is performed hence this also reflects the religious beliefs of the performers of Gwalior. Starting from the day of Diwali festival the Yadav Dance of Bundelkhand is performed by the dancers till the day of kartik purnima.

A magnificent manifestation of the Gwalior culture Yadav Dance of Bundelkhand captivates the imagination of one and all.

Last Updated on 16th Oct 2012



Which is the longest National Highway in India?Previously known as National Highway 7, National Highway 44 (NH 44) is the longest-running National Highway in India. It is 3,745 km long and covers the North-South Corridor of NHDP. It starts from Srinagar in the north and ends in Kanyakumari in the south. NH-44… Read More...
Which Indian state is the largest producer of silk?Karnataka is the largest producer of silk in India. The state produces an average of around 8,200 metric tonnes of silk every year, which is about one-third of the total silk production in India. Up to November 2017, Karnataka has produced 5,962 metric tonnes of… Read More...
Which is India's poorest state? As per the National Family Health Survey 2015-16 (NFHS-4), Bihar is India's poorest state with 43 percent incidence of Multidimensional Poverty (MDP) and having more than 50% households in the bottom wealth quintile. Despite India being… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow editorialcalls.org for border and boundary demarcations