Northern India Map

Northern India Map
Northern India Map
Email   Buy Now
Disclaimer: All efforts have been made to make this image accurate. However Compare Infobase Limited and its directors do not own any responsibility for the correctness or authenticity of the same.

North India is a well-defined region of the northern part of India. The Indus-Gangetic Plain and the Himalayas are the important geographical features of this region and delimitate it from the Central Asia and the Tibetan Plateau. The states that are officially a part of the northern region of India are Jammu and Kashmir, Punjab, Himachal Pradesh, Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand and the union territories of Delhi and Chandigarh. States like Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh and Bihar are not formally part of North India but indirectly considered a part of the region.

North India was the historical centre for many empires including the Guptas, the Mauryas, the Mughals, the British, the Sikh empire and many more. There are many pilgrim centres and heritage sites in North India such as Char Dham, Vaishno Devi, Golden Temple, Taj Mahal, Red Fort, Humayun's Tomb and many more.

You can see the above map to know more about North India. The above map shows the states that are part of the northern region. The major states that are a part of the region are marked in different colours. The state and international boundaries are also marked on the map. The capital cities of the states are also shown. The national highways passing through the states are marked with yellow lines, while the black-coloured lines highlight the railway networks in the region.


Last Updated on : July 8, 2015

  Buy this Map  

  Related Links  


Which States Share Boundary with China?India, in total, shares land borders with 6 sovereign countries. China is one of those. Below are the Indian states which share borders with the country. 1. Jammu and Kashmir This northern state of India is mostly located in the Himalayan mountains. It shares a… Read More...
Which States Share Boundaries with Pakistan? There are four states that share a border with Pakistan, namely, Jammu and Kashmir, Punjab, Rajasthan, and Gujarat. The India Pakistan Border is quite intriguing. Since India has installed 1,50,000 flood lights on… Read More...
Which Places in India Still Largely Speak Sanskrit?Sanskrit is considered as Dev Bhasha, the language of Gods. It has a history of around 3500 years. It used to be a primary language of ancient India. Its earliest form Vedic Sanskrit, was prevalent from 1500 500 BCE. However, it is fading… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow for border and boundary demarcations