Laxminarayan Temple

The Laxminarayan Temple presents a harmonious blend of fort and temple architectural style. The beautiful edifice of the sacred shrine of Laxminarayan Temple bears relics to the rich religious history and architectural legacy of the ancient times.
One of the notable travel attractions in Orchha, Laxminarayan Temple is devoted to Goddess Laxmi, the Goddess of wealth and good fortune.

The architectural structure of Laxminarayan Temple was constructed by Vir Singh Deo during the year of 1662. However, the beautiful religious monument soon began to deteriorate because of poor maintenance facilities. Prithvi Singh renovated the entire structure of the temple in the year of 1793 and helped it from encountering further damage.

The Laxminarayan Temple draws several devotees from far and wide who are absolutely awed by the magnificent architecture of the sacred sanctorum of the religious shrine of Orchha in Madhya Pradesh. A portion of the religious shrine has special provisions for religious sacrifices that are offered to Goddess Laxmi.

The walls and ceilings of Laxminarayan Temple are engraved with beautiful paintings and colorful frescos that impart a unique look to the sacred sanctorum. A creative mix of the rich Bundel and Mughal style of art, the splendid engravings and paintings of Laxminarayan Temple portrays the rich artistic caliber and imaginative skill of the local artisans of the ancient times.

The colorful paintings on the walls and ceilings of the holy shrine of Laxminarayan Temple are based on religious and secular subjects. Laxminarayan temple is easily reachable from all parts of Orchha by means of local transportation systems.

Last Updated on 19/06/2013



Which States Share Boundary with China?India, in total, shares land borders with 6 sovereign countries. China is one of those. Below are the Indian states which share borders with the country. 1. Jammu and Kashmir This northern state of India is mostly located in the Himalayan mountains. It shares a… Read More...
Which States Share Boundaries with Pakistan? There are four states that share a border with Pakistan, namely, Jammu and Kashmir, Punjab, Rajasthan, and Gujarat. The India Pakistan Border is quite intriguing. Since India has installed 1,50,000 flood lights on… Read More...
Which Places in India Still Largely Speak Sanskrit?Sanskrit is considered as Dev Bhasha, the language of Gods. It has a history of around 3500 years. It used to be a primary language of ancient India. Its earliest form Vedic Sanskrit, was prevalent from 1500 500 BCE. However, it is fading… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow for border and boundary demarcations