Bhagwan Mahavir Wildlife Sanctuary

Bhagwan Mahavir Wildlife Sanctuary was initially called the Mollem Game Sanctuary. It is located on the eastern border of the sate of Goa. The total land area covered by this wildlife sanctuary is 240 sq km. It is surrounded by lush green vegetation on all sides. It is actually located in the region of Sanguem Taluka. The wildlife sanctuary Bhagwan Mahavir abounds in flora and fauna.

The kind of vegetation found in this region can be characterized into three groups which are as follows:
  • Moist Deciduous Forests

  • West Coast Tropical Evergreen Forests

  • West Coast Semi - Evergreen Forests

The varied species of flora found in the Bhagwan Mahavir wildlife park are Lagerstromia, Terminalia, Xiylia, Dalbergia. The lush green forests are usually found in the higher terrains along the banks of the river. Water is found in abundance within the sanctuary wich is used for nourishing these plants. Certain portion of private land area falls under this sanctuary.

The wide variety of animals found are Panther, Gaur, mouse deer, barking deer, spotted deer, porcupine, common langur, bonnet macaque, pangolin, slender loris, Malabar giant squirrel, civet, flying squirrel, tigers, leopard cat, sambar, wild boar, wild dog. The varied species of snakes that are found here are pythons, kraits and vipers. A large number of non-poisonous snakes are also protected within this sanctuary. Around 200 different species of birds can be seen flying around within the premises of this wildlife sanctuary. The various species are namely the emerald dove, kingfisher, great Indian horn bill, paradise flyt catcher, malabar pied hornbill, shrikes, grey jungle fowl, barbets, fairy blue bird, drongo, wagtails, Indian black woodpecker.

Last Updated on: 15/05/2013



Which States Share Boundary with China?India, in total, shares land borders with 6 sovereign countries. China is one of those. Below are the Indian states which share borders with the country. 1. Jammu and Kashmir This northern state of India is mostly located in the Himalayan mountains. It shares a… Read More...
Which States Share Boundaries with Pakistan? There are four states that share a border with Pakistan, namely, Jammu and Kashmir, Punjab, Rajasthan, and Gujarat. The India Pakistan Border is quite intriguing. Since India has installed 1,50,000 flood lights on… Read More...
Which Places in India Still Largely Speak Sanskrit?Sanskrit is considered as Dev Bhasha, the language of Gods. It has a history of around 3500 years. It used to be a primary language of ancient India. Its earliest form Vedic Sanskrit, was prevalent from 1500 500 BCE. However, it is fading… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow for border and boundary demarcations