Andaman and Nicobar Islands Ethnicity

The Andaman and Nicobar Islands ethnicity can be classified into two large divisions. One is the Negrito ethnicity of Andaman and Nicobar Islands, who mainly dwelt in the Andaman Islands. The other is the Mongoloid ethnicity in Andaman and Nicobar Islands, who lived in the Nicobar Islands.

Profiles of Andaman and Nicobar Islands

The tribal groups belonging to the Negrito group are chiefly Nicobarese and Shompens. The tribal groups constituting the Mongoloid ethnicity at Andaman and Nicobar Islands, are the Jarawas, Great Andamanese, Onges and Sentinelese.

The tribal people, who form the indigenous Andaman and Nicobar ethnicity, continue with their old ways of living, which is largely nomadic. Their chief way of livelihood is hunting - both in water and on land, their major preys are wild pigs, fish, berries and wild tubers.

Each Andaman and Nicobar ethnicity has an identity of its own. They differ from each other in socio-cultural life. The Mongoloid family and the Negrito family, the main two types of people in the union territory, are quite different from each other in terms of language and cultural heritage.

Demography of Andaman and Nicobar Islands

The tribal people form a major portion of the total population of the Nicobar Islands. The Nicobarese are found in the Chowra, Car Nicobar, Teressa, Katchal, Bompoka, Trinkat, Camorta, Pulo Milo, Nancoury, Kondul, Little Nicobar and Great Nicobar islands. The Shompens live in the the coastal region and the river valleys of Great Nicobar. However, the groups of tribal ethnicity in Andaman and Nicobar Islands are a minority of the total population of the Andaman Islands. The Jarawas, Great Andamanese, Onges and Sentinelese have distinctive dialects, which are quite different from each other.

The Great Andamanese are found in the Strait Island. The Sentinelese are found in the North Sentinel Island. The Jarawas are found on the western coast of middle and south Andaman. The Onge live in Little Andaman.

Last Updated on: 2nd April 2013



Which is the longest National Highway in India?Previously known as National Highway 7, National Highway 44 (NH 44) is the longest-running National Highway in India. It is 3,745 km long and covers the North-South Corridor of NHDP. It starts from Srinagar in the north and ends in Kanyakumari in the south. NH-44… Read More...
Which Indian state is the largest producer of silk?Karnataka is the largest producer of silk in India. The state produces an average of around 8,200 metric tonnes of silk every year, which is about one-third of the total silk production in India. Up to November 2017, Karnataka has produced 5,962 metric tonnes of… Read More...
Which is India's poorest state? As per the National Family Health Survey 2015-16 (NFHS-4), Bihar is India's poorest state with 43 percent incidence of Multidimensional Poverty (MDP) and having more than 50% households in the bottom wealth quintile. Despite India being… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow for border and boundary demarcations