Konkan Railway Map

Konkan Railway Map
Print Email Save Buy Now 
*Konkan railway map showing railway tracks and important stations. Disclaimer

Konkan is a coastal strip of land which is bounded by the Arabian Sea in the west and the Sahyadri hills in the east. It is a blend of many different aspects such as a mix of economic growth and mythology, dense forest covers, rich mineral resources, and mango and coconut trees. The Konkan Railway was constructed to fill the missing gap between Mumbai and Mangalore. The line covers a length of 741 km and connects Maharashtra, Karnataka and Goa.

The construction of the Konkan project was only possible with the use of various technological innovations. The courage, spirit, skills and efforts of the Indian engineers has led to the success of this project. This project was an accomplishment of a long cherished dream of the people of the region. It proved to be a life- changing experience for the engineers as they had overcome all the odds in completing this project, which also brought a moment of pride and satisfaction among them. The project was completed in the 50th year of independence of India. The first Konkan train was flagged off on the occasion of Republic Day on 26 January 1998.

There are no divisions of the Konkan Railways like other Indian railway divisions. However, it has two separate regions along with headquarters at Karwar in Karnataka and Ratnagiri in Maharashtra. The region of Ratnagiri extends across a stretch of 480 km from Roha to Sawantwadi in Maharashtra, and the region of Karwar extends across a stretch of 660 km beginning from Pernem in Goa to Surathkal in Karnataka. It is designed in a manner so that high-speed trains with maximum speed of up to 160 km could pass through it. Presently, Trivandrum Rajdhani Express is the fastest train, which runs on this route at a maximum speed of 110 km.

Freight and passenger traffic, both run through this route. It intersects the national highway NH-17 at several places. Even though, it is a single line route, the lines of the Konkan Railway and South-Western Railway run parallel from Majorda to Margao, which makes it a double line. There are a total of 56 stations on this line.

The Konkan Railway Corporation Limited runs with an objective to offer safe, comfortable and timely transportation for freight and passengers. It also aims to maximise the net operating revenues with optimum utilisation of resources. It is also an objective of the project division to evolve Konkan Railway Technologies and build the Intellectual Property in order to augment efficiency and reliability of the performance, besides undertaking challenging projects.


Last Updated on : March 23, 2015

  Buy this Map  



Which Indian state is the largest producer of coffee?Karnataka state is the largest producer of coffee in India. The state contributed about 70% of the total production of coffee in India during 2016-17 with 2.33 lakh MT coffee production. The main variety of coffee grown in Karnataka is Robusta, but the state also… Read More...
Which is the longest National Highway in India?Previously known as National Highway 7, National Highway 44 (NH 44) is the longest-running National Highway in India. It is 3,745 km long and covers the North-South Corridor of NHDP. It starts from Srinagar in the north and ends in Kanyakumari in the south. NH-44… Read More...
Which Indian state is the largest producer of silk?Karnataka is the largest producer of silk in India. The state produces an average of around 8,200 metric tonnes of silk every year, which is about one-third of the total silk production in India. Up to November 2017, Karnataka has produced 5,962 metric tonnes of… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow editorialcalls.org for border and boundary demarcations