Government & Politics of Dadra & Nagar Haveli

India is a huge country with 29 states and seven union territories (UTs). The UTs of India are controlled directly by the federal national government as the union territories are defined as "the sub- national administrative divisions of India". Dadra and Nagar Haveli is an important union territory of India and therefore the government and politics of Dadra and Nagar Haveli is administered by the Indian federal government.

Dadra and Nagar Haveli Administration

According to the constitution of India, the union territories of the country are sub- national administrative divisions. Following this definition the Dadra and Nagar Haveli administration is also entrusted upon the federal government of India. After remaining a Portuguese colony for a long time, it was included within India in the year 1954 but even then its administration was an independent and self governing one.

It was only in the year 1961 that Dadra and Nagar Haveli became a union territory of India and the responsibility of its administration was rested with the Indian government. Today, this union territory has representatives in both the Houses of the Indian Parliament.

The President of India nominates an Administrator for the purpose of Dadra and Nagar Haveli administration and the latter is known as a ' Lieutenant Governor'. The Lieutenant Governor is the head of the government of Dadra and Nagar Haveli and just below him is the Secretary of Finance.

Government Departments and Political Parties

The most important departments in the government and politics of Dadra and Nagar Haveli include:

  • Public Works
  • Medical & Health Services
  • Food & Civil Supplies
  • Child Development
  • ITI
  • Child Labor
  • Vigilance
  • Education
  • Panchayats
  • Collectorate
  • Agriculture
  • Forest Department
  • Transport
  • Police
  • Industry
  • Land & Revenue
  • Municipality
  • Power ( Electricity )
  • Animal Husbandry
  • Excise
  • Planning & Statistics

Political Parties

The political parties which fight for offices in the politics and government of Dadra and Nagar Haveli include:
  • BJP
  • SHS
  • IND
  • BSP
  • CPM
  • SP
  • BNP
  • INC
  • NCP

Lok Sabha Constituency

In the year 1961 it became a union territory of India and at present has representatives in both the Houses of the Indian Parliament. Ever since then, members of different political parties in Dadra and Nagar Haveli have contested for a single seat in the Lok Sabha constituency of Dadra and Nagar Haveli.


Last Updated on : September 18, 2014



Which States Share Boundary with China?India, in total, shares land borders with 6 sovereign countries. China is one of those. Below are the Indian states which share borders with the country. 1. Jammu and Kashmir This northern state of India is mostly located in the Himalayan mountains. It shares a… Read More...
Which States Share Boundaries with Pakistan? There are four states that share a border with Pakistan, namely, Jammu and Kashmir, Punjab, Rajasthan, and Gujarat. The India Pakistan Border is quite intriguing. Since India has installed 1,50,000 flood lights on… Read More...
Which Places in India Still Largely Speak Sanskrit?Sanskrit is considered as Dev Bhasha, the language of Gods. It has a history of around 3500 years. It used to be a primary language of ancient India. Its earliest form Vedic Sanskrit, was prevalent from 1500 500 BCE. However, it is fading… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow for border and boundary demarcations