Language of Dadra & Nagar Haveli

Dadra and Nagar Haveli is an Union Territory in the Indian Sub- Continent and is located in the Western corner of the country. The main Languages of Dadra and Nagar Haveli includes Marathi, Gujrati, Bhili and Bildoli.

Dadra and Nagar Haveli is sandwiched between the Indian States of Maharashtra and Gujarat and therefore an influence of these regions on the Language of Dadra and Nagar Haveli is only natural. Dadra and Nagar Haveli is located at the foot hills of the Western Ghats and a large area of the territory is covered with forests. These areas are the habitats of a number of Tribes who have their own dialect which can also be categorized as Languages of Dadra and Nagar Haveli.

Marathi, Gujarati, Bhili/ Bildoli

Marathi, Gujarati, Bhili/ Bildoli are among the most widely used Languages of Dadra and Nagar Haveli. Bhili originated as a Western Indo- Aryan Language and is spoken in many parts of Central India. Bhili is also known as Bhilboli, Bhilla, Bhagoria, Bhil, Bhilbari, Lengotia, and Vil. This Language of Dadra and Nagar Haveli is related to Gujarati and Rajasthani Languages and is written by using variations of the Devanagari script.

Marathi, though is the official language of the State of Maharashtra, is also widely spoken in Dadra and Nagar Haveli. A 150 years old language, the grammar and syntax is derived from the Pali and Sanskrit Languages.

Gujarati is an important member of the family of Languages of Dadra and Nagar Haveli. It is an Indo Aryan Language and a direct decedent of Sanskrit. It is the chief language of the State of Gujarat but it is also widely spoken in the two Union Territories of Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu.

Last Updated on: 4th April 2013



Which States Share Boundary with China?India, in total, shares land borders with 6 sovereign countries. China is one of those. Below are the Indian states which share borders with the country. 1. Jammu and Kashmir This northern state of India is mostly located in the Himalayan mountains. It shares a… Read More...
Which States Share Boundaries with Pakistan? There are four states that share a border with Pakistan, namely, Jammu and Kashmir, Punjab, Rajasthan, and Gujarat. The India Pakistan Border is quite intriguing. Since India has installed 1,50,000 flood lights on… Read More...
Which Places in India Still Largely Speak Sanskrit?Sanskrit is considered as Dev Bhasha, the language of Gods. It has a history of around 3500 years. It used to be a primary language of ancient India. Its earliest form Vedic Sanskrit, was prevalent from 1500 500 BCE. However, it is fading… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow for border and boundary demarcations