About Daman and Diu

About Daman and Diu refers to the government departments, geographical location, the transportation system and the regions of Daman and Diu.
Daman and Diu are two islands situated in the southern side of Gujarat and are close to Surat. It abounds in historical sites, gardens, amusement parks and national sanctuaries. It is one of the major tourist attractions in Maharashtra state.

The nearest railway station of Daman and Diu is at Vapi. Railway station of Vapi is almost 12 kilometers away from Daman and Diu. The other major railway hub is at Valsad junction. Daman and Diu is well-connected with the rest of the state via national highways and roads. The Mumbai-Ahmedabad highway links Daman via Vapi. The closest international airport is situated at Mumbai. Local means of transport such as buses, auto rickshaws and hired cars can be found around this airport.

The Daman and Diu regions comprise the districts of Daman and Diu. These two islands are controlled by the central government of India.

The significant local government departments of Daman and Diu are as follows:
  • Daman and Diu Art College
  • Daman & Diu Power
  • Daman & Diu Industry
  • O.I.D.C, Daman & Diu
  • Medical & Health Services, Daman & Diu
  • Transport, Daman & Diu
  • Education, Daman & Diu
  • Collectorate, Daman & Diu
  • Agriculture, Daman & Diu
  • Fisheries, Daman & Diu
  • Panchayats, Daman & Diu
  • Daman & Diu Public Works Department
  • Land & Revenue, Daman & Diu
  • Veterinary, Daman & Diu
  • Planning & Statistics, Daman & Diu
  • Chief Electoral Officer, Daman
These respective departments see to the proper working of the union territory of Daman and Diu.

The districts of Daman and Diu are the second smallest union territory of the country. The average population of the union territory is 1,58,059. The official language of this region is Gujarati. A large section of the population speak Marathi as well.

Last Updated on: 3rd April 2013



Which States Share Boundary with China?India, in total, shares land borders with 6 sovereign countries. China is one of those. Below are the Indian states which share borders with the country. 1. Jammu and Kashmir This northern state of India is mostly located in the Himalayan mountains. It shares a… Read More...
Which States Share Boundaries with Pakistan? There are four states that share a border with Pakistan, namely, Jammu and Kashmir, Punjab, Rajasthan, and Gujarat. The India Pakistan Border is quite intriguing. Since India has installed 1,50,000 flood lights on… Read More...
Which Places in India Still Largely Speak Sanskrit?Sanskrit is considered as Dev Bhasha, the language of Gods. It has a history of around 3500 years. It used to be a primary language of ancient India. Its earliest form Vedic Sanskrit, was prevalent from 1500 500 BCE. However, it is fading… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow editorialcalls.org for border and boundary demarcations