Madurai Government & Politics

A brief discussion on Madurai government & politics includes the political parties of the city, the government organizations, the constituencies and the political leaders.

The Madurai parliamentary constituency has six assembly constituencies under it, they are:

  • Madurai East
  • Samayanallur
  • Melur
  • Tirupparankundram
  • Madurai West
  • Madurai Central

Several national, regional and local political parties contest elections in Madurai. The major political parties in Madurai are:

  • All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam - AIADMK
  • Indian National Congress -INC
  • Bharatiya Janata Party - BJP
  • Marumalarchi Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam - MDMK
  • Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam – DMK

The government of Tamil Nadu and the Central Government has established quite a few important institutions in Madurai. Some of the government organizations and important government offices in Madurai are:
  • Tamil Nadu Water Authority and Drainage Board
  • Madurai Kamaraj University
These organizations help in the better functioning of the municipality of Madurai.

Last Updated on 9/15/2011



Which state is the largest producer of uranium in India? The state of Andhra Pradesh is the largest producer of uranium in India. Tummalapalle village located in the Kadapa district of Andhra Pradesh is considered as one of… Read More...
Which Indian state produces the maximum wind power? The production of power from wind energy has considerably increased in the recent years. Very recently in June this year, India became the fourth largest country with 34.293 gigawatt of… Read More...
Which Indian state is the largest producer of diamonds? Madhya Pradesh is the only state with a diamond mine in the country as well as in Asia. During the year 2017-18, Madhya Pradesh has produced 28,424 carats of diamonds (up to December… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow for border and boundary demarcations