River Map of Meghalaya

Meghalaya River Map

separator Click here for Customized Maps arrow custom map
West Garo Hills East Garo Hills South Garo Hills West Khasi Hills Ribhoi East Khasi Hills Jaintha Hills ASSAM BANGLADESH West Bengal Tripura Mizoram
Print Email Save   Buy Now 
*The Meghalaya Rivers Network Map showing the River Flowing in and out of Meghalaya state. Disclaimer

The Indian state of Meghalaya has many rivers making them an intrinsic component of the state. The majority of these rivers are rain fed, thus making them seasonal. The rivers have formed deep canyons and numerous glistering waterfalls in the state.
The important rivers of Meghalaya that shape the northern region and course from west to east are the Ajagar, Chagua, Kalu, Didram, Dudnai, Krishnai and Ringgi and the important rivers that shape the southern region are Daring, Bhogai, Sanda, Dareng, Simsang, Bandra, Nitai and Bhupai.

Similarly, the important rivers of the central and eastern regions of Meghalaya that course towards the north are Umkhri, Umiam and Digaru and some main rivers of the eastern regions that course towards south are Barapani, Kynchiang, Mawpa, Myngot and Myntdu.

Some other important rivers of Meghalaya are:

Someswari -
It is the biggest and second largest river in Meghalaya. Known by its local name"Simsang", it originate from the hills of Nokrek and progresses east towards through the towns of Williamnagar, Baghmara and Rewak.

Jinjiram -
The river originates from Urpad Beel Lake and streams towards the east through the Goalpara district in Assam. It is the largest river from the two Garo hills districts.

Kalu -
Known by its local name "Ganol", the river originates from Tura peak in Meghalaya and flows west towards Goalpara district in the state of Assam.

Myntdu -
The river originates at Mihmyntdu, near Jowai. The River streams across Jowai to Leshka to Borghat village and finally enters into Bangladesh.

Last Updated on 9 March 2013

  River Maps of Meghalaya  



Which Are The Worst Polluted Indian Cities? India for years has been striving to improve its air quality in urban areas, which takes a massive toll on the health of millions of its residents. Every year, a number of its cities… Read More...
Which state of India has given maximum number of Indian cricket captains? The state of Maharashtra has seen the maximum number of players went onto represent India. Maharashtra has been a home to many famous Bollywood celebrities but this state… Read More...
Which State Has Given the Highest Number of Prime Ministers? Uttar Pradesh has given India the maximum number of Prime Ministers. There have been 14 Prime Ministers of the country so far, and eight of them have been from Uttar Pradesh… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow editorialcalls.org for border and boundary demarcations