East Midnapur District Map

East Midnapur District Map
separator Click here for Customized Maps arrow custom map
East Midnapur District Map
Print Email Save   Buy Now
Disclaimer: All efforts have been made to make this image accurate. However Compare Infobase Limited and its directors do not own any responsibility for the correctness or authencity of the same.
East Midnapur district, also known as Purba Midnapur is among the nineteen districts of West Bengal. It was found on 1st January, 2002 after the division of the district of Midnapur into Paschim Midnapur and Purba Midnapur. The headquarters of East Midnapur district is at Tamluk.

Geographical Location & Climate

East Midnapur district is located at 22 degrees 57'10" N and 21 degrees 36'35" S latitude and 88degrees 12'40"E and 86degrees 33'50 W longitude.

History and Culture

Midnapur east has a rich history. It is the land of ancient kingdoms, rich archaelogical remains, diverse tradition, varied culture, beautiful places, serene beaches and many more.

Towns and Cities

Some of the major towns and cities of East Midnapur district are Panskura, Contai, Tamluk, Egra, Haldia, Mecheda, Haria, Mahisadal, Digha, Nandigram, Mandarmoni, Ramnagar, Khejuri, Potashpur, Manglamarro, Bhagabanpur, Chandipur, Kolaghat, Nandaigajan and Paniparul

The 4 sub-divisions of the East Midnapur district are
  • Tamluk
  • Egra
  • Contai
  • Haldia
Tourist Attractions

Some of the most sought after tourist attractions in East Midnapur district are Mandarmoni, Digha, Shankarpur, Haldia,

How to Reach

East Midnapur district is conveniently located with excellent connectivity to all the important places in India. The Midnapur railway station is situated on Howrah-adra and Howrah-Purulia train routes. Many local trains, express trains, frequent buses etc makes Midnapur East easily reachable. National Highway No.6 and 60 is connected to the Purba Midnapore, thereby making traveling even more easier.

Facts of Purba Medinipur District
StateWest Bengal
DistrictPurba Medinipur
District HQTamluk
Population (2011)5095875
Sex Ratio938
Area (km2)4736
Density (/km2) 923
Tehsils Bhagawanpur I, Bhagawanpur II, Chandipur, Contai I, Contai III, Deshopran, Egra I, Egra II, Haldia, Khejuri I, Khejuri II, Kolaghat, Mahisadal, Moyna, Nanda Kumar, Nandigram I, Nandigram II, Panskura, Potashpur I, Potashpur II, Ramnagar I, Ramnagar II, Sahid Matangini, Sutahata, Tamluk
Lok Sabha Constituencies Kanthi (Contai), Tamluk, Ghatal, Medinipur
Assembly Constituencies Tamluk, Panskura Purba, Panskura Paschim, Moyna, Nandakumar, Mahishadal, Haldia, Nandigram, Chandipur, Patashpur, Kanthi Uttar, Bhagabanpur, Khejuri, Kanthi Dakshin, Ramnagar, Egra
Languages Bengali, Hindi
Rivers Rupnarayan, Haldi, Kangsabati, Chandia
Lat-Long 21.943046,87.779961
Travel Destinations Rakhit bati, Temple of Devi Barghobhima, Matangani Sahid Smarak, Archeological Museum etc.
Government Colleges/Universities Bajkul Milani Mahavidyalaya, College of Engineering and Management, Egra Sarada Shashi Bhusan College, Haldia Government College, Haldia Institute of Technology, Haldia Law College, Khejuri College, Maharaja Nandakumar Mahavidyalaya, Mahishadal Girls College, Mahishadal Raj College, Mugberia Gangadhar Mahavidyalaya, Panskura Banamali College, Prabhat Kumar College, Ramnagar College, Sitananda College, Tamralipta Mahavidyalaya, Vivekananda Mission Mahavidyalaya, Yogoda Satsanga Palpara Mahavidyalaya etc.

Last Updated on : January 3, 2015

  Buy this Map  



Which state is the largest producer of uranium in India? The state of Andhra Pradesh is the largest producer of uranium in India. Tummalapalle village located in the Kadapa district of Andhra Pradesh is considered as one of… Read More...
Which Indian state produces the maximum wind power? The production of power from wind energy has considerably increased in the recent years. Very recently in June this year, India became the fourth largest country with 34.293 gigawatt of… Read More...
Which Indian state is the largest producer of diamonds? Madhya Pradesh is the only state with a diamond mine in the country as well as in Asia. During the year 2017-18, Madhya Pradesh has produced 28,424 carats of diamonds (up to December… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow editorialcalls.org for border and boundary demarcations