West Midnapur District Map

The Proposed new name for West Bengal is Paschim Banga

West Midnapur District Map
separator Click here for Customized Maps arrow custom map
West Midnapur District Map
Print Email Save   Buy Now
Disclaimer: All efforts have been made to make this image accurate. However Mapping Digiworld Pvt Ltd and its directors do not own any responsibility for the correctness or authencity of the same.
The West Midnapur district or the Paschim Midnapur is among the 19 districts of West Bengal, India. It came into existence on 1st January, 2002 following the partition of the district of Midnapur into Purba Midnapur and Paschim Midnapur. The headquarters of the West Midnapur district is Midnapur.

Geographical Location & Climate

West Midnapur district is located in the South West of West Bengal. It is surrounded by Purulia and Bankura in the North, Balasore and Mayurbanj in the South, Hoogly and Purba Midnapur in the East and Purulia and Singbhum in the West. The district has a tropical climate with temperatures of maximum 42 degree Celsius and minimum 10 degree Celsius.

History and Culture

Midnapur has contributed immensely to the history of India. West Midnapur district is the land of social reformers, freedom fighters and martyrs like matangini Hazra, Khudiram, Hemchandra Kanongo. In the ancient times it was the region of the Kalinga-Utkala Empire and the kingdoms of Harshavardhana and Shashanka. Midnapur district. Paschim Midnapur is also supplemented with diverse social and cultural activities of various tribal people like the Sabars, sandals and the Lodhas.

Towns and Cities

Some of the important towns and cities of West Midnapur district also known as Midnapur West, are Kharagpur, Jhargram, Belda, Ghatal, Garbeta, Chandrakona, Dantan, Gopiballavpur, Nayagram, Salboni, Keshpur, Keshiari, Sabang, Pingla, Daspur, Narayangarh, Monobitan, Rohini,and Bonobitan.

The four sub- divisions of Paschim Midnapur are
  • Midnapur
  • Jhargram
  • Kharagpur
  • Ghatal
Tourist Attractions

Some of the important tourist places in West Midnapur district that can be visited are Chilkigarh, Belpahari, Gopegarh Heritage Park, Kankrajhore, Rameshwar Temple,near Rohini, Mandirmy Patra,near midnapore town, Kaniashar pahar,near Belpahari, Gurguripal Heritage Park and may more.

How to Reach

West Midnapur is very well connected to all the important regions in India. The Midnapur railway station is on Howrah-Purulia and Howrah-adra train routes. Many express trains, local trains, numerous buses etc makes the district easily accessible. National Highway No.6 and 60 is also connected to the district.

Facts of Paschim Medinipur District
StateWest Bengal
DistrictPaschim Medinipur
District HQMidnapore
Population (2011)5913457
Sex Ratio966
Area (km2)9345
Density (/km2) 1076
Tehsils Binpur I, Binpur II, Chandrakona I, Chandrakona II, Dantan I, Dantan II, Daspur I, Daspur II, Debra, Garbeta I, Garbeta II, Garbeta III, Ghatal, Gopiballavpur I, Gopiballavpur II, Jamboni, Jhargram, Keshiary, Keshpur, Kharagpur I, Kharagpur II, Midnapore, Mohanpur, Narayangarh, Nayagram, Pingla, Sabang, Salbani, Sankrail
Lok Sabha Constituencies Medinipur, Ghatal, Jhargram (ST), Arambag (SC)
Assembly Constituencies Dantan, Nayagram, Gopiballavpur, Jhargram, Keshiary, Kharagpur Sadar, Narayangarh, Sabang, Pingla, Kharagpur, Debra, Daspur, Ghatal, Chandrakona, Garbeta, Salboni, Keshpur, Medinipur, Binpur
Languages Bengali, Hindi
Rivers Subarnarekha
Lat-Long 22.416107,87.384453
Travel Destinations Khargeswar Shiv Mandir, Umapati Shiv Mandir, Malleswar Mahadev Temple, Navaratna Temple, Khalsa Shiv Temple, Temple Of Garbeta, Konoreswar Temple, Radhaballvjiu Temple, Temples Of Karnagarh, Kali Temple, Tomb Of 'Pir Lohani Baba, Jora Masjid etc.
Government Colleges/Universities Belda College, Bhatter College, Chaipat S.P.B. Mahavidyalaya, Chandrakona Vidyasagar Mahavidyalaya, Debra Thana Sahid Kshudiram Smriti Mahavidyalaya, Garhbeta College, Ghatal Rabindra Satabarsiki Mahavidyalaya, Gourav Guin Memorial College, Institute of Science and Technology, Jhargram Raj College, K.D. College of Commerce and General Studies, Kharagpur College, Midnapore College, Midnapore Law College, Midnapore Medical College and Hospital, Narajole Raj College, Pingla Thana Mahavidyalaya, Raja Narendra Lal Khan Women's College, Sabang Sajani Kanta Mahavidyalaya, Santal Bidroha Sardha Satabarsiki Mahavidyalaya, Seva Bharati Mahavidyalaya, Silda Chandra Sekhar College, Subarnarekha Mahavidyalaya, Sukumar Sengupta Mahavidyalaya, Vidyasagar Teachers' Training College, Vidyasagar University, Vivekananda Satavarshiki Mahavidyalaya etc.

Last Updated on : 24 March 2020

  Buy this Map