MapsofIndia Constituency Analysis | Top Candidates of Adarsh Nagar for Delhi Elections 2020

Delhi Map Highlighting Location of Adarsh Nagar Assembly Constituency
Map of Delhi depicting location of Adarsh Nagar Assembly Constituency
Delhi Map Highlighting Location of Adarsh Nagar Assembly Constituency
Map of Delhi depicting location of Adarsh Nagar Assembly Constituency


Post Results: In the state Assembly elections 2020, Pawan Sharma of Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) won from Adarsh Nagar with a vote margin of over 1,589 votes. He was contesting election against Rajkumar Bhati of Bhartiya Janata Party and Mukesh Goel of the Congress.

Key Facts of Adarsh Nagar Assembly Constituency and its Top Candidates for Delhi Assembly Election:

Adarsh Nagar assembly constituency is one of the most upscale constituencies in Delhi. It houses big bungalows, large houses, and wide roads. This crime-free constituency can be easily accessed by Delhi Metro, DTC or Metro Feeder Services.

Some of the most important regions in this assembly constituency include Azadpur, Model Town, Kewal Park, Majlis Park, Sarai Pipal Thala, Gandhi Vihar, Rameshwar Nagar, Bharola village, Nirankari village, and Dhirpur village. During the 2019 Lok Sabha election, this segment recorded the lowest turnout. A large part of the population living in this area consists of people from the Poorvanchali community.

The sitting MLA is Pawan Kumar Sharma of AAP, who won the last assembly election (in 2015) by over 20,000 votes. AAP has reposed its faith on Pawan Kumar Sharma and given him the AAP-ticket to contest the 2020 Delhi Assembly election from Adarsh Nagar seat.

The other major candidates of the Adarsh Nagar assembly constituency in the 2020 Vidhan Sabha Election are Rajkumar Bhatia of Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and Mukesh Goel of Indian National Congress (INC). BJP’s Rajkumar Bhatia is expected to throw a tough challenge to AAP’s Pawan Kumar Sharma this coming election.

The 2020 Adarsh Nagar Assembly Constituency election details:

Date of Election

February 8

Date of Result Announcement

February 11

Adarsh Nagar Assembly Constituency: Snapshot

  • Delhi’s Adarsh Nagar Assembly Constituency was created in 1993.

  • It is part of the Chandni Chowk Lok Sabha constituency.

  • The major localities in Adarsh Nagar Vidhan Sabha constituency are Adarsh Nagar, Azadpur, Village Bharola, Sarai Pipal Thala, Village Dhirpur, Nirankari Colony, Gandhi Vihar, Model Town-III, R-Block, Model Town-III Mohan Park, Model Town-Ii Police Colony, Rameshwar Nagar, Kewal Park, Kewal Park Extention, Gopal Nagar, Indira Nagar, Majilis Park, MCD/DJB Flats Model Town-III, Ram Garh, Sanjay Enclave, DDA Flat Jahangir Puri, Mahendra Park, Sanjay Nagar, and Jahangir Puri.

  • The sex ratio of the constituency is 799 females per 1,000 males (lower than the Delhi average of 824 females per 1,000 males).

  • Adarsh Nagar Vidhan Sabha Constituency’s Electoral History: Adarsh Nagar Vidhan Sabha constituency was a Congress-bastion from 1998 till the 2008 Delhi Assembly election. Congress’ Mangat Ram Singhal won thrice (1998, 2003, and 2008) from this seat. However, in 2013 he was dethroned by BJP’s Ram Kishan Singhal. However, this success continued for just 2-years and in the 2015 Assembly election, he lost to AAP’s Pawan Kumar Sharma by more than 20,000 votes.

  • Demography of this assembly constituency: Adarsh Nagar constituency is mainly a posh residential area, which has a large population of Purvanchalis. This high concentration of people from the Purvanchali community made BJP to bring several leaders from Bihar for campaigning in this constituency during the 2015 election.

Name of Assembly Constituency

Adarsh Nagar

Constituency Type

General (No Reservation)

District Name

North West Delhi

Lok Sabha Constituency

Chandni Chowk

Total Registered Voters

1,57,749 total voters

Total Registered Male Voters

87,706 male voters

Total Registered Female Voters

70,034 female voters

Total Registered Third Gender Voters

9 transgender voters

Main Rivals of Adarsh Nagar Constituency in 2020 Delhi Legislative Assembly Election

In the 2020 assembly election, Adarsh Nagar constituency is going to witness a triangular contest between the candidates of and Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), and Indian National Congress (INC).

Political Party Name

Name of Candidate

Political History


Pawan Kumar Sharma

 – He has won the constituency in 2015 and is the incumbent MLA of the constituency. He is again contesting the seat on an AAP ticket.

 – He is a business person by profession.


Raj Kumar Bhatia

 – He is a senior BJP leader and a RSS karyakarta.

 – Raj Kumar Bhatia is the former National President of Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP), the student wing of BJP.

He is also one of the spokespersons of Delhi BJP.


Mukesh Kumar Goel

 – Mukesh Kumar Goyal was the opposition leader of North Delhi Municipal Corporation (NDMC).

 – He was the Chairman of the MCD standing committee.


Vijay Kumar Aggarwal


Chander Pal



Aapki Apni Party (Peoples)


Main Issues/Factors in 2020 Delhi Assembly Election’s Adarsh Nagar Constituency

Adarsh Nagar assembly constituency’s main issues/factors in 2020 Vidhan Sabha election are:

  • Unauthorized colonies in this constituency are a serious problem and the central government’s sop for regularizing these colonies may earn some brownie points for BJP.

  • Other major problems in the jhuggi jhopdis and unauthorized colonies include lack of proper roads and piped water supply and sewerage problems.

Winners of Adarsh Nagar Constituency in Previous Delhi Assembly Elections

  • Winners and Losers of Adarsh Nagar Constituency in 2015 Delhi Assembly Election

During the 2015 Delhi Legislative Assembly election, AAP’s Pawan Kumar Sharma defeated BJP’s Ram Kishan Singhal by 20,741 votes.


Political Party

Votes Received (Vote Percentage)


Pawan Kumar Sharma

AAP (Aam Aadmi Party)

54,026 votes (51.36%)

1,05,252 votes (66%)

Ram Kishan Singhal

BJP (Bharatiya Janata Party)

33,285 votes (31.64%)

Mukesh Goel

INC (Indian National Congress)

15,341 votes (14.58%)

Vijay Kumar Aggarwal


694 (0.65%)

Ram Niwas

Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP)

679 (0.64%)

Lal Singh


263 (0.25%)



194 (0.18%)

Naresh Kumar Choubey

Bharatiya Jan Kranti Dal (Democratic) (BJKD (D))

108 (0.10%)


Republican Party of India (Athawale) (RPI(A))

73 (0.06%)

Krishna Kumar Singh

Bharatiya Janata Dal (Integrated) (BJD(I))

61 (0.05%)

  •  In 2020, it is won by AAP’s Pawan Sharma
  • In 2013, it was won by AAP’s Ram Kishan Singhal

  • In 2008, it was won by INC’s Mangat Ram Singhal

  • In 2003, it was won by INC’s Mangat Ram Singhal

  • In 1998, it was won by INC’s Mangat Ram Singhal

  • In 1993, it was won by BJP’s Jai Prakash Yadav

Related Link:

Adarsh Nagar Map