Home   »   Politics

Category Archives: Politics

Somnath Chatterjee profile

The nation was gripped with a patriotic nationalist fervor with Independence Day just two days away when the news of the demise of Somnath Chatterjee saddened the atmosphere. The country was still recovering from the death of M Karunanidhi when this sad news engulfed the entire nation. Prime Minister Narendra Modi in a tweet referred Somnath Chatterjee as the strong voice of the downtrodden people who worked hard for the upliftment of their living conditions. [...]

19th Kargil Vijay Diwas

Kargil Vijay Diwas is the day when the nation pays homage to all the Indian soldiers and civilians who served and fought for their motherland. On 26th July 1999, Indian Army successfully completed the ‘Operation Vijay’. In 1998-99, Pakistan army personnel were infiltrating Indian borders to cause disruption in Kashmir and severe ties between the Kashmir and Ladakh region, disguised as mujahideens. ‘Operation Badr’ was the operation code used by the Pakistani army intruders. On [...]

Pakistan General Elections 2018

India and Pakistan gained independence more or less at the same time with a difference . Both the neighbouring countries have had a different electoral history, there has been a stark contrast. India’s electoral history has been occasionally marred by controversy, while Pakistan’s electoral history has been time and again halted by the military coups that destabilised the democratic institutions within the country. Pakistan is heading for parliamentary elections on 25th July, with former Pakistan [...]

Queer Activism & Indian Politics

  With the Supreme Court putting its verdict on Section 377 on ‘Reserve’, the battle is still perhaps only half-won. As the central government, or at least, the Prime Minister continues to stay quiet on the issue, an introspection is in order. India’s political climate spells “misty and foggy” when it comes to LGBTQ+ rights. The parties stride cautiously, not wanting to lose the conservative vote bank, but shouldn’t there be more to politics than [...]

Maharashtra Bandh Maratha Reservation Protests halt the State

Wide-spread protests across the state of Maharashtra on Tuesday brought an abrupt halt to the life in the state. Violence and damage to public property was seen across several places in Maharashtra with reports stating the damage being done to shops and vehicles increasing with every hour. However, Maratha Kranti Morcha called for a peaceful protest to be followed today, but things took a nasty turn. The protestors took to railway tracks to block the [...]

Rahul Gandhi New face for PM

With the 2019 Lok Sabha elections looming over heads, downpour of speculations is already in place. The opposition needs a PM candidate, and it needs it soon. In this season of names being called out everyday, one particular name has naturally made the highlights- Rahul Gandhi. The Congress President has hinted on several occasions, his willingness to become the next Prime Minister. With questions being shot from every direction, is the ‘Prince’ really ready to [...]

Mobocracy and Lynching

On a fine day in July, 32-year-old Mohammed Azam Ahmed, was traveling to Handikera village in Karnataka to attend a social gathering. Mohammed Azam, was an engineer at Google working on the company’s project in Hyderabad. He was along with his friends Mohammed Salman, Noor Mohammed, and Qatari national Salham Eidal Kubaisi. The group of friends stopped over for a cup of tea and some evening snacks. Things took a nasty turn for them, when [...]

Fake News Indian

India and the world is grappling with the problem of fake news, that has not only destabilised the basic foundations of the society but also created a sense of fear among the public. In the last few years, social media has become the forest while fake news is the wildfire that spreads across the forest and causes irreversible damage. Almost every other day, there is a news that due to a viral Facebook post or [...]

How Secular Is India

India is a land of several different religions and cultures that have co-existed in harmony for thousands of years. Indian diversity has been the strength and basis of modern India, the country’s inclusive nature is what sets it apart from any other country in the world. Secularism plays an important role in a complex social fabric like India where since time immemorial different religions have come from various parts of the world and lived cohesively [...]

Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh and Rajasthan elections

After a nervy and exhilarating end to Karnataka State Legislative Assembly, the focus for major national parties shift to the year-end state legislative assembly elections in the state of Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh and Chhattisgarh. The Bharatiya Janata Party emerged as the single largest party in Karnataka but failed to pass the floor test, as B S Yeddyurappa had to resign due to lack of majority. BJP is facing anti-incumbency waves in all the three states [...]

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.

We follow editorialcalls.org for border and boundary demarcations