Map of Indian UTs, States and Capitals

States and Capitals Map of India Himachal Pradesh Map Punjab Map Haryana Map Delhi Map Uttarakhand Map Uttarpradesh Map Rajasthan Map Gujarat Map Madhya Pradesh Dadra & Nagar Haveli Map Daman & Diu Map Maharashtra Map Goa Map Karnataka Map Kerala Map Tamilnadu Map Puducherry Map Karaikal ( Puducherry ) Mahe ( Puducherry ) Yaman ( Puducherry ) Andhrapradesh Map Telangana Map Odisha Map Chhattisgarh Map Bihar Map Jharkhand Map Westbengal Map Sikkim Map Meghalaya Map Assam Map Tripura Map Mizoram Map Manipur Map Nagaland Map Arunachal Pradesh Map Jammu and kashmir Map Ladakh Map Chandigarh Lakshadweep Andaman-nicobar-islands
*Map showing States and Capitals of India. Disclaimer

Capital of India

IndiaNew Delhi

List of 28 States and Capitals of India

List of States and Capitals of India
1Andhra PradeshAmaravati
2Arunachal PradeshItanagar
5ChhattisgarhNaya Raipur
9Himachal PradeshShimla
11KarnatakaBengaluru (formerly Bangalore)
13Madhya PradeshBhopal
21Rajasthan Jaipur
22Sikkim Gangtok
23Tamil Nadu Chennai
24Telangana Hyderabad
26Uttar PradeshLucknow
27Uttarakhand Dehradun, Gairsain (Summer)
28West Bengal Kolkata

List of 8 Union Territories of India with Capital

Union Territories of India
S.noUnion territoriesCapital
1Andaman and Nicobar IslandsPort Blair
3Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and DiuDaman
4Delhi New Delhi
5Lakshadweep Kavaratti
6Puducherry (Pondicherry)Pondicherry
7Jammu and KashmirSrinagar (Summer), Jammu (Winter)

India is located in South Asia and is officially known as the Republic of India. It is comprising a total area of 3,287,263 sq. km, and has an estimated population of 135.26 crores (2019) making it the world’s second-most populous country.

Governed by a parliamentary system, India is a federal constitutional republic and is the world’s most populous democracy. There are 28 states and 8 union territories in India. Each state and union territory of India has an administrative, legislative and judicial capital. (The Union territories of Jammu & Kashmir and Ladakh have a common high court)

Below is a brief difference between the different kinds of capitals.

  • An administrative capital is one where all the offices of the executive government are situated.
  • A legislative capital is the one where the state assembly convenes.
  • A judicial capital is the one where the territorial high courts are located.

All the states and two union territories, Puducherry and the National Capital Territory of Delhi, have an elected form of government and legislatures. They are headed by a Chief Minister, who is elected for a term of five years. The Central government directly rules all the other union territories. Under the States Reorganisation Act of 1956, the states were reorganised based on language.

The map above shows locations of all the States and Union Territories along with their capitals. The names of the states of India are written in capital letters, and the capitals of states are marked with a black dot. State and international boundaries are also marked on the map. The table below the map lists the capital of India and the capitals of the states and the union territories.

Last Updated on: February 14, 2023