Craze for ‘lucky’ stones: Gemstones and their significance

Nauratan: Nine Gemstones and Their Significance

Nauratan: Nine Gemstones and Their Significance If you’re from India you have probably heard of the “Nauratan”, or the nine precious gems commonly worn to propitiate the nine main planets (grah) that are said to deeply influence one’s destiny. In Indian astrology, the 9 planets (including the Sun, Moon and the Nodes – Rahu and Ketu) are said to influence one’s destiny by their transit and by their position in one’s natal chart. To negate their negative influences and accentuate the positive vibes, you may be asked to wear a gemstone as a ring or a pendant. Here’s a handy guide to understanding these stones and their properties.


Worn to propitiate: Diamond is worn to please Venus, the lord of Taurus and Libra. Colour: Clarity, cut, and colour are important factors taken into account when buying a Diamond. Properties: Diamond is the most precious and the most effective of gem stones. It bestows riches, success, and luxury on the wearer. It heals diabetes and digestive ailments, say astrologers. It blesses one with a long life, successful marriage, and professional success. Checking a diamond for compatibility is very important before wearing a Diamond.


Worn to propitiate: In Hindu astrology, emerald is associated with the planet Mercury, the ruler of the zodiacs Gemini and Virgo. Colour: Shades of green – from a light liquid green to a dark and dense hue. The stone may exhibit secondary shades of yellow and blue as well. Properties: Donning an emerald (panna) is said to bestow its wearer with great intellectual capabilities. This gemstone helps in increasing your oratorical skills and concentration. It is a commonly suggested remedy for chronic digestive ailments as well. People in the creative industry and sportsmen are commonly asked to don the emerald.


Worn to propitiate: Astrologers believe that the ruby is associated with the planet Sun, lord of the zodiac Leo. Sun is at the centre of our solar system and is believed to be the ruler of our vital and spiritual energies. Colour: Ruby or Manik is bright red to look at. Depending on its place of origin, the ruby may vary from a dark scarlet to shades of pink to even a blazing orange. Properties: Wearing a ruby is said to give a person a large power boost. It protects the heart and enhances vitality as well. Leaders, pioneers, entrepreneurs, and those intending to make breakthroughs in their field are often asked to wear the ruby.

Blue Sapphire

Worn to propitiate: The Blue Sapphire is worn to propitiate Saturn, one of the mightiest planets (according to Hindu astrology) and ruler of Capricorn and Aquarius. Colour: The blue sapphire may dazzle with a number of hues, ranging from a light lilac to a bright and brilliant blue. Less valuable ones may even be grey or black. Properties: The Neelam or Blue Sapphire is one of the most protective and fastest acting stones suggested by astrologers. From curing one of depression, lethargy, navigating roadblocks and warding of the Evil Eye, this stone is said to produce astonishing results. A Neelam, however, must be carefully tested before it is worn.

Yellow Sapphire

Worn to propitiate: According to Vedic Astrology, the yellow sapphire is associated with the planet Jupiter, ruler of Sagittarius and Pisces. Colour: Yellow Sapphire or Pukhraj may be a light pale yellow, or the colour of bright daffodils or even honey. Properties: Wearing a Pukhraj and propitiating Jupiter could flood one’s life will all sorts of auspicious occurrences and good luck. The Yellow Sapphire is said to bring wealth, promotions, and elevation of status and also bring in a good life partner into the wearer’s life. It is also said to cure thyroid related ailments and insomnia as well. It is likely to make you more spiritually inclined.


Worn to propitiate: Moonga or Coral is the gemstone regularly associated with the fiery planet, Mars, ruler of Aries and Scorpio. Colour: The bright red or flaming orange coral is highly recommended by astrologers. Corals with black specks or other markings are best avoided. Properties: Coral imparts courage and fearlessness. It brings confidence and negates the effects of “manglik dosh” by bringing a compatible spouse. It is said to cure piles related ailments or menstrual irregularities. It brings stability in career and in professional advancement. Military personnel, police officers, and security personnel are advised to wear a coral.


Worn to propitiate: Pearl or Moti is the favourite gemstone of Moon, the ruler of Cancer and bestower of emotional stability and creativity. Colour: Pearls come in a number of colours from milky white to blue to pink and even black. For astrological purposes, however, a milky white pearl is preferred. Properties: Pearl is recommended to those associated with the creative arts. It brings the much needed emotional stability and cures a number of mental ailments as well. It also cures fluid imbalance and urinary tract ailments, astrologers believe. It brings harmonious associations and brings new friends.


Worn to propitiate: Hessonite is the stone commonly recommended for the propitiation of the node, Rahu. Rahu is believed to be a snake-headed Asura that causes eclipses along with Ketu. Colour: Gomedh or Hessonite is deep yellow, dark red, dark orange, and honey coloured leading to browns. Properties: The Gomedh is said to be a very powerful stone. It is said to shield the wearer from adversities and addictions such as drug and alcohol abuse, and gambling. It is said to bring relief from skin Diseases, psoriasis, and different forms of psychoses. The Gomedh promises victory over one’s enemies.

Cats Eye

Worn to propitiate: Cats Eye is the stone commonly used for the propitiation of the node, Ketu. Ketu is believed to be a snake-bodied Asura that causes eclipses along with Rahu. Colour: The Cats Eye (Lahsunia or Vaidurya) is named thus due to its resemblance to a cat’s eye. It exudes shades of white grey and green. Properties: The Cats Eye causes the wearer to disperse the negative results of Karma. It makes one deeply interested in spiritual matters, the occult sciences, and enlightenment or Moksha. It reduces the effects of negative doshas such as Kalasarpa Dosha.