List of Kaun Banega Crorepati Winners

One of the most popular series on Indian television is Kaun Banega Crorepati. The show has aired on Indian television for the last 13 seasons. Suppose you wish to know the names of former KBC winners from all seasons, then here are details about them in this article.

Selection Process:


  • Participants must complete the qualifying quiz, identical to the original series in the United Kingdom, which began at the commencement of each series at various times during the year. 
  • Candidates should text a premium-rate SMS to a predetermined number and respond to a question.
  • Then contestants would go through a round of screenings before being chosen randomly from several other contestants and arriving on the set of Fastest Finger First.

Winner of the Fastest Finger Contest

  • The chosen candidates are then invited to the studio to compete in Fastest Finger First, where they must put four answers in the correct sequence in the least period.
  • Interestingly, contestants in the 13th season must complete three questions with four alternatives, just like in the game. The person with the most accurate answers in the least time (total for the three questions) took the hot seat.

The main game

  • After identifying the Fastest Finger First winner, they would join the host in the “Hot Seat” to begin responding to a sequence of multiple-choice questions on their path to winning the top cash prize.
  • Along the way, the player can leave the game with their wins, but if they get a question incorrect, they will go with nothing until they correctly answer a threshold question, ensuring some rewards.

Given the show’s popularity, it is available in various regional languages. Let’s look at the season’s winners of the show from the start.

Season 1:

  • Host: Amitabh Bachchan
  • Winner: Harshwarshan Nawathe

Harshwardhan Nawathe was preparing for his civil services test. And the show was appealing to him at that moment.

Season 2:

  • Host: Amitabh Bachchan
  • Winners: Ajay Devgn, Kajol, and Brajesh Dubey

Season 2 of KBC premiered in 2005. It came after five years. Season 2 saw two winners. Ajay Devgn, Kajol, and Brajesh Dubey. The total cash won by each of them was one crore. Season 2 was broadcast on Star Plus.

Season 3:

  • Host: Shahrukh Khan

It premiered on Star Plus in 2007. Unfortunately, season 3 of Kaun Banega Crorepati did not have a winner. Sadly, no one won the season.

Season 4:

  • Host: Amitabh Bachchan
  • Winner: Rahat Taslim

Rahat Taslim is a homemaker who won Season 4 of the show. She gets a monetary award of one crore rupees. She was overjoyed when he won the season. Rahat utilised her KBC season 4 winnings to open a clothing boutique at a shopping centre in her hometown.

Season 5:

  • Host: Amitabh Bachchan
  • Winner: Sushil Kumar

Sushil Kumar is from Bihar. After deducting taxes, he collected a total of 3.6 crores. He uses the money to build a residence for himself and purchase acreage in his hometown. In addition, he spent some money to start a taxi business.

Season 6:

  • Host: Amitabh Bachchan
  • Winners: Manoj Kumar Raina and Sunmeet Kaur Sawhney.

Sunmeet Kaur kept his application for KBC a secret from everyone. Following the tryouts, she and her husband were contacted by the producers. He was the only one who supported her once she informed him of her participation.

Season 7:

  • Host: Amitabh Bachchan
  • Winners: Taj Mohammed Rangrez and Firoj Fatima

They each received a monetary award of one crore rupees.

Season 8:

  • Host: Amitabh Bachchan
  • Winners: Achin Narula and Sarthak Narula.

Both brothers received a monetary award of Rs. 7 crore. They utilised the financial reward to pay for their mother’s cancer treatment. And they invest the remainder in their future planning, where they have launched their own business and are now settled.

Season 9:

  • Host: Amitabh Bachchan
  • Winner: Anamika Majumdar

Anamika is a housewife and NGO worker from Jamshedpur. Her NGO is titled ‘Faith in India.’

Season 10:

  • Host: Amitabh Bachchan
  • Winner: Binita Jain

Binita Jain is the season’s winner, receiving a monetary award of Rs. 1 crore and Mahindra Marazzo.

Season 11:

  • Host: Amitabh Bachchan
  • Winner: Sanoj Raj

Sanoj Raj, the first KBC Season 11 winner, received a cash reward of Rs. 1 crore. In KBC, the other three participants also won a cash award of Rs. 1 crore. Mrs Babita Tade, Ajit Kumar, and Gautam Kumar Jha have also been crowned winners of Season 11 of Kaun Banega Crorepati.

Season 12:

  • Host: Amitabh Bachchan
  • Winner: Nazia Nasim

Season 13:

  • Host: Amitabh Bachchan
  • Winners: Geeta Singh Gaur, Himani Bundela, and Sahil Ahirwar

Geeta Singh Gaur (53) is a homemaker who has spent her entire life caring for her home and raising her children.

Himani Bundela (25), a teacher by trade, has weak vision but has not let it hold her back in life. She was the first competitor to win Rs. 1 crore, and her upbeat nature won over the host.

Sahil Ahirwar (19) won Rs 1 crore in season 13 of this programme. Sahil was studying for the UPSC examinations and aspired to be an IAS officer to bring about social change in his community.