MapsofIndia Constituency Analysis | Top Candidates of Trilokpuri for Delhi Elections 2020

Delhi Map Highlighting Location of Trilokpuri Assembly Constituency
Map of Delhi depicting location of Trilokpuri Assembly Constituency
Delhi Map Highlighting Location of Trilokpuri Assembly Constituency
Map of Delhi depicting location of Trilokpuri Assembly Constituency

Post Results: In the state Assembly elections 2020, Rohit Kumar of Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) won from Trilokpuri with a vote margin of over 69,947 votes i.e. 52.36%. He was contesting election against Kiran of Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP).

Key Facts of Trilokpuri Assembly Constituency and its Top Candidates for Delhi Assembly Election:

Trilokpuri assembly constituency is a resettlement colony established in 1975-76 and the people of the nearby slums are relocated here. Since 1993, it has been ruled by MLAs from Congress (1993, 1998, and 2003), BJP (2008), and AAP (2013 and 2015). That’s why it can’t be regarded as a safe seat for any political party.

In the 2015 Delhi Assembly election, Raju Dhingan was fielded against BJP’s Kiran Vaidya from Trilokpuri constituency and the former defeated the later by around 30,000 votes. However, in the 2020 assembly poll, AAP has changed its candidate and given the ticket to Rohit Kumar Mehraulia. The other major candidates of the Trilokpuri assembly constituency in the 2020 Vidhan Sabha Election are Kiran Vaidya of Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and Vijay Kumar of Indian National Congress (INC).

The 2020 Trilokpuri Assembly Constituency election details:

Date of Election

February 8

Date of Result Announcement

February 11

Trilokpuri Assembly Constituency: Snapshot

  • Delhi’s Trilokpuri Assembly Constituency was created in 1993.

  • It is part of the East Delhi Lok Sabha constituency and East Delhi district.

  • The major localities in Trilokpuri Vidhan Sabha constituency are Trilokpuri, Kotla Village, Mayur Vihar, New Ashok Nagar, and Mayur Vihar Phase-I Extension.

  • The sex ratio of the constituency is 803 females per 1,000 males (lesser than the Delhi average of 824 females per 1,000 males).

  • Trilokpuri came into existence during 1975-76 when the nearby slums were cleared and the residents were rehabilitated in the Trilokpuri resettlement colony.

  • A significant number of Dalit and Muslim population live in this constituency.

  • There are 4 major political parties in this constituency and they are Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Indian National Congress (INC), Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), and Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD). While INC has won thrice (1993, 1998, and 2003), BJP once (2008), and AAP twice (2013 and 2015) from this constituency. However, BSP and SAD haven’t won from this assembly seat.

  • Ground reports indicate that the AAP has high chances of winning this Vidhan Sabha constituency again. AAP has tied up with the Indian Political Action Committee of Prashant Kishor, giving AAP a well-deserved momentum to its campaign.

  • With the BJP powering its campaign by focusing on the issues of CAA and regularizing 1,731 unauthorized colonies in Delhi, they are expected to give a tough fight to AAP in the 2020 Delhi Assembly election.

  • Congress is struggling to survive in this constituency and will hardly put any challenge to AAP and BJP.

  • Communal tensions are witnessed in this constituency on a regular basis since 1984.

    • It all started with the deaths of 350 Sikhs in Trilokpuri neighborhood in 1984 during the infamous anti-Sikh riots.

    • In recent years, the most significant communal tension took place in 2014 between the Hindu and Muslim communities in this constituency. The clash between the communities started after a group of people started building a temple near a mosque in Trilokpuri. The administration had imposed a month-and-a-half long curfew in the area.

    • Even in May last year, large scale police personnel had to be deployed as a precautionary measure to stop any riot when two cows were found dead under mysterious circumstances.

  • Recently, the residents in the stretch between Trilokpuri and Mayur Vihar Pocket-I on the Delhi Metro Pink Line objected to a Delhi Metro notice that wanted to relocate the residents from 108 plots of lands. However, Delhi High Court later said in response to a petition by residents that people can’t be uprooted for executing “projects for the public good”.

Name of Assembly Constituency


Constituency Type

Reserved for Scheduled Caste (SC) candidates

District Name

East Delhi

Lok Sabha Constituency

East Delhi

Total Registered Voters

1,78,214 total voters

Total Registered Male Voters

98,816 male voters

Total Registered Female Voters

79,376 female voters

Total Registered Third Gender Voters

22 transgender voters

Main Rivals of Trilokpuri Constituency in 2020 Delhi Legislative Assembly Election

In the 2020 assembly election, the main contest will be between the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) and Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) candidates in this constituency.

Political Party Name

Name of Candidate

Political History


Rohit Kumar Mehraulia

 – He is the Municipal Councilor of Trilokpuri East’s ward no. 02-E.

 – Rohit is a musician and a music teacher (at Indirapuram’s St Francis School) by profession.


Kiran Vaidya

 – She was the deputy mayor of the East Delhi Municipal Corporation (EDMC).

 – Kiran Vaidya contested the 2015 election too but lost to AAP’s Raju Dhingan by around 30,000 votes.


Vijay Kumar

 – He is a local candidate and a businessperson by profession. His wife is a social worker.


Raghu Raj Singh

Bhartiya Samajik Nyay Party

Ajay Chauhan

Rashtriya Samaj Paksha

Akshtiz Birmani

Sabse Badi Party

Mayank Kumar

Aam Janta Party (India)

Rajesh Kumar

Janshakti Party



Kavita Rani Singh

Main Issues/Factors in 2020 Delhi Assembly Election‘s Trilokpuri Constituency

Trilokpuri assembly constituency’s main issues/factors in 2020 Vidhan Sabha election are:

  • The residents in the constituency are more or less content about the water supply. However, complaints regarding the supply of contaminated water are there. This issue would have a positive as well as a negative effect on AAP. However, there is a sense in the assembly seat that the AAP at least is trying to work for the people.

  • A significant improvement has been witnessed by the residents in the three public schools in the Trilokpuri assembly constituency. This will surely give a dividend to AAP in the 2020 Vidhan Sabha election.

  • The CAA, the protests in Shaheen Bagh, and the narrative created around them have become an issue in this assembly election, especially for a constituency which has a significant Muslim population. However, the local issues dominate the minds of the residents in this assembly seat.

  • General sentiment in the constituency is that the local needs have improved during the AAP regime, especially in the last 5-years. The electorates now want the next MLA to upgrade the existing system.

Winners of Trilokpuri Constituency in Previous Delhi Assembly Elections

  • Winners and Losers of Trilokpuri Constituency in 2015 Delhi Assembly Election

During the 2015 Delhi Legislative Assembly election, AAP’s Raju Dhingan defeated BJP’s Kiran Vaidya by 29,754 votes.


Political Party

Votes Received (Vote Percentage)


Raju Dhingan

AAP (Aam Aadmi Party)

74,907 votes (58.62%)

1,27,778 votes (71.71%)

Kiran Vaidya

BJP (Bharatiya Janata Party)

45,153 votes (35.33%)

Brahm Pal

INC (Indian National Congress)

4,149 votes (3.24%)

Dr. Girish

Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP)

2,217 votes (1.73%)

  • In 2020, it is won by AAP’s Rohit Kumar
  • In 2013, it was won by AAP’s Raju Dhingan

  • In 2008, it was won by BJP’s Sunil Kumar

  • In 2003, it was won by INC’s Brahm Pal

  • In 1998, it was won by INC’s Brahm Pal

  • In 1993, it was won by INC’s Brahm Pal

Related Link:

Trilokpuri Map