Natyanjali Dance Festival, Thanjavur

The Natyanjali Dance Festival, Thanjavur is celebrated with great enthusiasm and religious fervor for a continuous period of five days on the propitious occasion of Mahashivratri. Dedicated to Lord Nataraj, the Natyanjali Dance Festival of Thanjavur provides the artists of classical dances with a wonderful opportunity to display their artistic skills and creative talents.

One of the prominent Thanjavur festivals, the Natyanjali Dance Festival is organized within the sacred premises of the temples. The dancers perform their dance with perfection and complete dedication to the Supreme Being. The dance festival of Thanjavur or Tanjore usually takes place in Chidambaram which is located besides the mighty Bay of Bengal.

The Natyanjali Dance festival attracts dancers from all over India. Dressed in traditional costumes, the dancers display their talent and earn appreciation for their brilliant performance. The dance festival portrays the importance of the traditional performing arts of Thanjavur in the daily life of the local indigenous inhabitants of the ancient city of the state of Tamil Nadu.

The grand festival of the Natyanjali Dance festival is arranged by The Natyanjali Trust, Chidambaram, The Department of Tourism, Government of Tamil Nadu and The Department of Tourism, Government of India. The Natyanjali Dance Festival draws several tourists from far and wide who are thrilled with the marvelous presentation of the variety of classical dance forms.

An integral part of art and culture of Thanjavur, the Natyanjali Dance Festival reflects the rich cultural heritage and traditional legacy of the bygone era that has percolated to the modern age.

Last Updated on 06 December 2011



Which is the Coldest Place in India?Drass is the coldest place in India. The town is located in Jammu and Kashmir's Kargil District. It falls on NH 1 between Kargil town and Zoji La pass. It is famously called the 'the Gateway to Ladakh'. The climate here is of mediterranean continental… Read More...
Which is the Only Indian State That Was a Separate Country?Sikkim was once an independent country before India claimed it on May 16, 1975. Before that, it was a monarchy and was ruled by Chogyals (kings). The last Chogyal of Sikkim was Palden Thondup Namgyal. He had interests in keeping Sikkimas an independent unit, just… Read More...
What are the Major Earthquakes, Tsunamis, and Floods Happened in India in the 21st Century?India has had a large number of calamities over the period of time. There have been many in the 21st century itself. Let's discuss the major earthquakes, floods, and tsunamis in the country which claimed thousands of lives and caused huge losses of property. There… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow for border and boundary demarcations