script) -->

Golden Triangle Tour India

Golden Triangle Tour Map

Golden Triangle Map
Print Email Save Buy Now
*Map showing all the Golden Triangle Tourist Circuits of India. Disclaimer

The Golden Triangle is one of the most captivating tourist circuits in India. It covers Delhi, the capital of India; Agra, the seat of the Taj Mahal, the Seventh Wonder of the World; and Jaipur, the land of the Rajputs. These three cities, when connected on the Indian map, look like a triangle; thus the name, Golden Triangle. Touring this circuit gives the visitor an idea of the rich historical past, the vibrant cultural heritage and the architectural splendor of India that can be witnessed from the magnificent forts, palaces, monuments, temples, mosques and gardens, among others. The Golden Triangle attracts both national and international tourists in large numbers. One of the main reasons for its popularity among the tourists is that it gives a miniature historical view of the classic art, architecture, culture and tradition of India.

Best time to visit

The Golden Triangle can be visited any time, but it is best to visit the circuit during the winter season to avoid the lash of heat and dehydration. At the same time, from October to February it becomes comfortable for sightseeing and participating in various outdoor activities. This time the landscapes also get ornamented with the flowering season, making the trip delightful and a memorable one.

Major attractions

The three cities of the Golden Triangle are unique in their own way. Delhi, the capital city, is more sophisticated and modern, with a cosmopolitan culture, and is one of the busiest cities in India. The city of Agra, on the other hand, reflects the grandeur of the Mughal Empire, showcasing their rich architectural preference and styles. Jaipur is among the most dazzling and colorful cities that speaks of the mighty Rajputs and their opulent lifestyles, culture and heritage.

Some of the major attractions in Delhi are Red Fort, Jama Masjid, Humayun's Tomb, Qutab Minar, Chandni Chowk, Lodhi Gardens, Lotus Temple, India Gate, Gandhi Smriti and the Garden of Five Senses.

Agra is famous for the Taj Mahal, which is the Seventh Wonder of the World. It is the main attraction of the circuit tour. The Taj Mahal is a mausoleum built by Emperor Shah Jahan of the Mughal Dynasty, in memory of his wife Mumtaz Mahal. The monument's beauty is unparalleled. The other attraction is the Agra Fort. The famous Fatehpur Sikri, once the capital city of the Mughal Dynasty about 40 km from Agra, is mostly clubbed with the circuit.

Jaipur, famously known as the Pink City, boasts of being a major tourist destination with attractions such as City Palace, Hawa Mahal, Nahargarh Fort, Amber Fort and Palace, Jaigarh Fort, Jantar Mantar, Government Central (Albert Hall) Museum, Dera Amer Elephant Safari and Galta Monkey Temple. It is also a shopper's paradise for popular items such as silver jewelry, precious gemstones, bangles, clothes, textiles and blue pottery.

How to travel