Char Dham

The Char Dham ('four abodes') constitutes the most notable pilgrimage circuit in the Indian Himalayas. Situated in the Garhwal area of the state of Uttaranchal (previously the north-western part of Uttar Pradesh), the circuit comprises of four sites:

  • Yamunotri
  • Gangotri
  • Kedarnath
  • Badrinath
Although each site in the circuit has its individual history and significance that antedates and is to be clearly demarcated from their status as a circuit, inclusion in the Char Dham has generally led to their association in popular imagination and practical pilgrimage practice.

The source of the name Char Dham is shrouded in mystery. Originally, Char Dham was the umbrella term for India's most popular pilgrimage circuit, the four important temples-Puri, Rameshwaram, Dwarka and Badrinath-clubbed together by the 8th century saint Shankaracharya into the representative all-India pilgrimage circuit to the four cardinal points of the country.


Char Dham Pilgrimages

Char Dham Map
Email   Buy Now
*The Map showing the Char Dham Location.

Disclaimer: All efforts have been made to make this image accurate. However Mapping Digiworld Pvt Ltd and its directors do not own any responsibility for the correctness or authencity of the same.

Last Updated on : 11 May 2011