Vadodara City

Vadodara city, earlier known as Baroda, is situated on the banks of river Vishvamitri. It is the headquarters of Vadodara district and was once known as Chandravati, after its ruler Raja Chandan. Vadodara was also called Viravati, Vadpatra and Baroda. The best time to visit the city is between October and March. During this time, Vadodara enjoys a pleasant weather.

Vadodara is linked to all the major towns and cities in India by regular flights, trains and bus services. The State Road Transport (STC) of Vadodara links it with a number of towns in Gujarat. The STC buses connect Vadodara with the different destinations in Gujarat, northern part of Maharashtra and western region of Madhya Pradesh. Besides, the airlines connect the city with Mumbai, Delhi and Ahmedabad. Among the airlines operating in Vadodara are Indian Airlines, Jet Airways, Air New Zealand, Singapore Airlines and British Airways. Furthermore, the city falls under Western Railways in the broad gauge line between Mumbai-Delhi and Mumbai-Ahmedabad. Vadodara is connected with a number of trains to different parts of India.

Given below are some of the facts and information about Vadodara city of Gujarat:
  • Area - 149 sq. km
  • Latitude - 22°30' North latitude
  • Longitude - 73°20' East longitude
  • Population - 1.115 million
  • Telephone code - 0265
  • Pin code - 390001
  • Tourist attractions - Baroda Museum and Picture Gallery, Aurbindo Society, EME Temple, Darbar Hall, Lalbaug, Khanderao Market, Laxmi Vilas Palace and Nyaymandir.
  • Tourist information centers - Cinderella Travels, Tourism Corporation of Gujarat Limited, Transline Tours and Travels and Gandhi Travels and Tours
  • Tour operators - Ashay Travels, Fair Deal Travels, Arzoo Travel and Tours and Nishant Travels

To know more click on the links:

Last Updated on: 8/05/2013