Cricket Team of Baroda

The Cricket Team of Baroda or the Baroda Cricket Team is the domestic cricket team of the Gujarat city. In fact, since time immemorial cricket has always been an integral part of Vadodara sports and evinces the Vadodara culture and its rich legacy. The city has churned out a number of talented cricketers over the years.

The Moti Baug Stadium that is famed to be the largest cricket ground in the Asian continent is the home ground of the Vadodara cricket team. The Baroda Cricket Association is in charge of the administration of the cricket team of Baroda. The team has a lineup of some of the best players and fast bowlers and has emerged victorious in many a tournament. The city has been a six time champion in the Ranji Trophy, the most prestigious of the various domestic cricketing tournaments in the Indian subcontinent. In fact, the Baroda team has

Baroda were runners-up in the 2005/06 Ranji Trophy. It is one of three Gujarat Teams, the others being the Saurashtra cricket team and Gujarat cricket team has egressed as the runner up in the Ranji Trophy for 2005-06'. The Cricket Team of Baroda was one of the strongest cricket teams of Baroda, way back in the 1940's and 50's. However the next eventful victory occurred after a long span of 43 years during the 2000-01' championship.

The eminent Vadodara cricketers include the following players:
  • Ajay Jadeja
  • Irfan Pathan
  • Zaheer Khan
  • Vijay Hazare
  • Hemu Adhikari
  • Anshuman Gaekwad
  • Datta Gaekwad
  • Amir Elahi
  • Gul Mohammad
  • Nayan Mongia
  • Kiran More
  • Jayasinghrao Ghorpade
  • C. S. Nayudu

Last Updated on: 8/05/2013