Haryana Government

The Haryana Government or the State Government of Haryana is the apex administrative authority of the state of Haryana in India. The government comprises a judiciary, an executive, and a legislative branch. The executive branch of the government is headed by the Governor of Haryana.

Haryana Government: An Overview

Similar to other states in the country, the Governor of Haryana serves as the head of the state. He or she is designated by the President of India. The President of the Republic consults the Union Government before appointing him.

The position of the Governor of the state is mostly formal.

The head of the Government is the Chief Minister of the state. He is entrusted with certain executive authorities.

Seat of Government of Haryana

The seat of the Government of Haryana is Chandigarh, the capital of the state. It is home to the Haryana Legislative Assembly or Vidhan Sabha and also the secretariat.

Present Chief Minister of Haryana

Currently, the Chief Minister of Haryana is Mr. Bhupinder Singh Hooda. He is a member of the Indian National Congress.

Present Governor of Haryana

The present governor of the state is His Excellency Jagannath Pahadia.

Who comprise the Council of Ministers in Haryana?

Given below is the council of ministers of the Haryana Government:

Name of the Minister Departments
Sh. Bhupinder Singh Hooda
(Chief Minister of the State)
  • Architecture
  • Administration of Justice
  • General Administration & Administrative Reforms
  • Development & Panchayats
  • Jails
  • Home
  • Personnel & Training
  • Information, Public Relations & Cultural Affairs
  • Town & Country Planning and Urban Estates
  • Raj Bhawan Affairs
  • Housing
  • Law & Legislative
  • Printing & Stationery
  • Electronics & Information Technology
  • Any department not particularly assigned to any Minister
Captain Ajay Singh
  • Forests
  • Power
  • Environment
Sh. Harmohinder Singh
  • Planning
  • Finance
  • Irrigation
  • Institutional Finance & Credit Control
  • Renewable Energy
Sh. Randeep Singh Surjewala
  • Parliamentary Affairs
  • Industries & Commerce
  • Public Work (Buildings & Roads)
  • Science & Technology
Smt. Kiran Choudhry
  • Excise & Taxation
  • Public Health Engineering
Sh. Mahender Partap Singh
  • Consolidation
  • Revenue & Disaster Management
  • Technical Education
  • Rehabilitation
  • Food & Supplies
Sh. Paramvir Singh
  • Animal Husbandry & Dairying
  • Agriculture
  • Mines & Geology
  • Fisheries
Sh. Narender Singh
  • Elections
  • Health & Medical Education
Smt. Geeta
  • Industrial Training
  • Education & Languages
  • Women & Child Development
  • Social Justice & Empowerment
  • Archeology & Museums
  • Welfare of Scheduled Castes and Backward Classes
  • Archives
Sh. Satpal
  • Housing
  • Cooperation
Pt. Shiv Charan Lal Sharma
(Minister of State)
  • Information, Public Relation & Cultural Affairs (Connected with CM)
  • Labour & Employment (Independent Charge)
Sh. Sukhbeer(Minister of State)
  • Agriculture (Connected with Agriculture Minister)
  • li>Sports & Youth Affairs (Independent Charge)
  • Cooperation (Connected with Cooperation Minister)
Sh. Gopal Kanda(Minister of State)
  • Industries & Commerce (Connected with Industries Minister)
  • Urban Local Bodies (Independent Charge)
  • Home (Connected with CM)

Haryana Legislative Assembly (Vidhan Sabha)

Haryana Legislative Assembly is unicameral in nature and contains 90 assembly constituency seats, which are occupied by the MLAs (Members of the Legislative Assembly). The term of the assembly is five years unless stated otherwise.

Last Updated on : 09/10/2013