Category Archives: Cricket

orange cap claimants

David Warner, who recently scored his first century for Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH), right now leads the race to win the orange cap. At present, he has 529 runs from 11 games and with the 126 against Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR), he also has the distinction of having scored the highest runs in a game as a captain. Gautam Gambhir The skipper of KKR, Gambhir believes in showing the way himself and throughout the season he [...]

OPPO Wins Indian Cricket Team Sponsorship

The Board Of Control For Cricket In India (BCCI) has just confirmed selection of Chinese mobile phone brand OPPO as the main sponsor of the Indian cricket team for the next five years, starting April 1, 2017. The earlier sponsor was Star India that had won the contract with a bid of Rs 538 crore. The OPPO contract is expected to exceed that amount, though the exact value of the contract is yet to be disclosed. [...]

India vs Australia

Australia is here! The test series that we had been waiting for so long is finally upon us! Even though India has blanked the likes of New Zealand and England already, a similar result against the Aussies would be ‘cleansing’, considering how successful the latter team has been over the years. Even though Australia may have been underperforming of late with series losses to Sri Lanka (away) and South Africa (home), it’s still a team [...]


The auction for the 10th edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) was organised on February 20, 2017 at Bengaluru. This year’s auction was special in the sense that it came at the end of the third three-year cycle. In all, 352 players went under the hammer and the franchises were able to buy only 75 players (including 28 overseas professionals) from the said pool. Before the auction started, the eight teams had released 161 [...]

IPL 2017 Schedule Released by the BCCI

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has recently announced the schedule for the upcoming edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL). This is going to be the tenth edition of what is regarded by everybody as the finest T-20 league in the world along with the Big Bash and Caribbean Premier League. Hyderabad will host the first game on April 5 with a game between last year’s finalists Royal Challengers Bangalore (runners [...]

India Cricket Team's Match Schedule 2017

It is the start of the year and the Indian men’s cricket team already gave plenty of moments to cheer for the avid Indian fans. The year started with a hard-fought series win against West Indies in their backyard followed by consecutive home series wins against New Zealand and England in rather convincing fashion. The team ended as the top-ranked test team. Not that long ago, on the limited overs front, though it lost the [...]

MS Dhoni Retires as India's Limited Overs Captain

Every cricket fan in India knew it was bound to happen, yet Dhoni’s stepping down as the captain of the ODI and Twenty20 team has broken many hearts. Dhoni, India’s most successful captain in limited overs, batsman and wicket-keeper, is one of the most popular sportsperson in India who transformed the team into a formidable power. The flamboyant batsman cum wicket-keeper made the announcement just days before India meets England in ODIs and T20s. Nevertheless, [...]

Supreme Court Expels Anurag Thakur from BCCI Post

In what may be regarded as a major decision, the Supreme Court has removed Anurag Thakur and Ajay Shirke from their respective positions at the very top of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). Thakur had been serving as President and Shirke was the BCCI Secretary. The major reason cited in this case – as had been expected by so many leading up to the decision – was the organization’s failure in [...]

online moral policing

Social media is a great medium to connect and inform, and can be a tremendous asset if it works positively for you. But when it doesn’t, the negative fallout can be quite a handful from most, as Mohammed Shami learnt the hard way on the 26th of this month. Shami, who hails from the quiet town of Amroha in U.P., happens to be one of India’s leading fast bowlers, with a large fan following in [...]

R Ashwin- ICC Player of the Year

Ravichandran Ashwin has capped off a marvellous year by becoming the ICC Player of the Year as well as ICC Test Player of the Year for 2016 on December 22. He becomes the third Indian to win the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy following Rahul Dravid in 2004 and Sachin Tendulkar in 2010. The voting period in consideration for the award was September 14, 2015 to September 20, 2016. Ashwin has played eight tests this year [...]