Indian Squad For Cricket World Cup 2019

2019 Indian Cricket World Cup Team

2019 Indian Cricket World Cup Team

2019 ICC Cricket World Cup is just around the corner, and aren’t we all excited for the same? Yes, of course, the most awaited ODI cricket tournament of the year is here.

This 12th edition of the Cricket World Cup series will be hosted by England and Wales, notably for the fifth time. It is scheduled to commence from 30 May 2019, and will go on till 14 July 2019. The first match of the series will be played at the Oval, while the tournament will culminate with the final match at the Lord’s.

Meanwhile, the participating teams are absolutely getting ready to beat their opponents in the battleground. The tournament will include a single group of ten teams, and each team will be competing with nine other teams consequently. In the end, the top four teams will emerge to compete at the knockout stage of the semi-finals. The winners will then compete for the top honour at the famous Lord’s cricket grounds.

You will be happy to know that five selectors have already picked out a squad of 15 men for the world cup series. These cricketers will be taking charge to represent India at the international level. The names of these 15 players were announced on Monday, 15 April 2019. Leading from the front will be Virat Kohli, along with Rohit Sharma as his deputy. Along with them, selectors have shown their faith and trust in Vijay Shankar and Dinesh Karthik (with Ambati Rayudu and Rishabh Pant the most notable absentees). For this season, specialist opener KL Rahul is also included as a backup opener to Shikhar Dhawan and Rohit Sharma.

The confirmed names for the selected team are: Virat Kohli (Capt), Rohit Sharma (VC), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, MSD (WK), Vijay Shankar, Dinesh Karthik, Kedar Jadhav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohd Shami, Jasprit Bumrah and Hardik Pandya.

As per the tournament guidelines, the teams are free to change their squads without permission from the ICC till May 22. After that, changes have to be cleared by the ICC.

As BCCI has named Rishabh Pant, Ambati Rayudu and Navdeep Saini as standby players, the chance of inclusion in the final team is still open for these players.

Khaleel Ahmed, Avesh Khan and Deepak Chahar have been taken in as net bowlers. They will be traveling with the team during the World Cup for providing net practice to the team batsmen, and a little relief to the team bowlers from excessive workload.

Although the tournament is still a month away, all the teams have already started plotting their winning strategies. So, cricket fans what are waiting for? Make sure you do not miss out on your favourite series of the year. Our players are about to hit centuries and fifties. Make sure you are there to lend excitement and support!

Also Read: ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 Schedule