Bhavnagar Government and Politics

Bhavnagar is a major city in the Indian state of Gujarat. It serves as the district headquarters of the district of the same name. It is closely located to the Gulf of Khambat and the distance from Gandhinagar, the capital of Gujarat is about 28 km. Bhavnagar plays an important role in the political scenario of the state since it is the fifth biggest city in the state of Gujarat. The mayor of Bhavnagar Municipal Corporation is Suresh Dhandhalia. The city is called as the Cultural Capital of Saurashtra and it is also the second biggest city in the Surat region.

Bhavnagar Government and Politics: An Overview

Bhavnagar Lok Sabha Constituency
Bhavnagar Parliamentary Constituency is one of the 26 Lok Sabha seats in the state of Gujarat.

Assembly Segments of Bhavnagar Lok Sabha Constituency

The assembly segments of Bhavnagar Lok Sabha Constituency are as follows:
  • Palitana
  • Talaja
  • Bhavnagar East
  • Bhavnagar Rural
  • Gadhada
  • Bhavnagar West
  • Botad

Members of Parliament Representing Bhavnagar Lok Sabha Constituency

Given below are the names of the Members of Parliament who represented the Bhavnagar Lok Sabha Constituency:
Year Candidate Party
1962 Jashvant Mehta Praja Socialist Party
1967 J.N. Mehta Indian National Congress
1971 Prasannbhai Mehta Indian National Congress (Organization)
1977 Prasannbhai Mehta Janata Party
1980 Gigabhai Gohil Indian National Congress
1984 Gigabhai Gohil Indian National Congress
1989 Shashibhai Jamod Indian National Congress
1991 Mahavirsinh Gohil Bharatiya Janata Party
1996 Rajendrasinh Rana Bharatiya Janata Party
1998 Rajendrasinh Rana Bharatiya Janata Party
1999 Rajendrasinh Rana Bharatiya Janata Party
2004 Rajendrasinh Rana Bharatiya Janata Party
2009 Rajendrasinh Rana Bharatiya Janata Party

Bhavnagar District

Bhavnagar District is a district on the peninsula of Southeastern Gujarat. The city of Bhavnagar serves as the governmental headquarters of the district. The district is bounded by Surendranagar and Ahmedabad to the north, Rajkot and Amreli to the west, and the Gulf of Cambay to the south and east.

Last Updated on 10 October 2011



How many states are there in India? There are 29 states and 7 union territories in India. The states have their own government while the union territories are governed by the central government. The states are namely, Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Bihar,… Read More...
Which cities in India have the metro railway system? The Metro railway system and service are operational in 10 cities in India. These are Kolkata, Delhi, Bengaluru, Gurugram, Mumbai, Chennai, Jaipur, Kochi, Hyderabad, and Lucknow. The Kolkata Metro rail is the… Read More...
Which states in India have less population than Delhi? Delhi has a population of approximately 18.6 million people, as per the latest census. Delhi's area is much less as compared to many states and Union territories in India. But in… Read More...

We follow for border and boundary demarcations