Districts and Cities

Bihar districts and cities reflect an influence of Buddhist culture. Bihar districts are 37 in number. The capital city of Bihar is Patna. Governed by the the Guptas, the Lichchavis and the Mauryas, Bihar cities have seen some glorious days of history. The industrial hub of the state is Patna. Muzzafarpur is known for production of litchis. Bodhgaya has the holy tree where Buddha achieved enlightenment, while Nalanda houses the ancient Nalanda International University.

Some quick facts about the important Bihar districts and cities are given below:

  • Bihar districts and cities

  • Araria: Araria covers an area of 2,830 square kilometer. It is located in the southern part of Purnia and Medhepura in Bihar. Araria is strategically important as it shares its border with Nepal in the north. The tourist spots in Araria are:

    • Madanpur
    • Palasi
    • Basaithi

  • Kaimur: It is one of the Bihar districts situated on 24.54 degree north latitude and 83.40 degree east latitude. Its total area is 3362 square kilometer. Some of its chief attractions are:

    • Adhaura
    • Badap
    • Chainpur
    • Chargotia
    • Darauli

  • Jamui: It was formed in the year 1991. The district is located at the center of Bihar and has a total area of 3122.80 square kilometer. The major attractions of Jamui are:

    • Minto Tower
    • Kali Mandir
    • Jain Mandir Dharamshala

  • Patna: Patna is the capital of Bihar. It is situated on the banks of River Ganga. Patna, once known as Patliputra, is one of the most ancient Indian cities. Its major tourist attractions are:

    • Gol Ghar
    • Khuda Baksh Oriental Library
    • Jalan Museum

  • Rajgir: Rajgir is located 102 kilometer away from Patna and 34 kilometer away from Gaya. The tourist attractions are:

    • Amaravana
    • Bimbisara's Jail
    • Venuvana

The above mentioned districts and cities of Bihar are an indispensable part of the state.

For more information on Bihar districts and cities, log on to:

Last Updated on 14 June 2013



Which States Share Boundary with China?India, in total, shares land borders with 6 sovereign countries. China is one of those. Below are the Indian states which share borders with the country. 1. Jammu and Kashmir This northern state of India is mostly located in the Himalayan mountains. It shares a… Read More...
Which States Share Boundaries with Pakistan? There are four states that share a border with Pakistan, namely, Jammu and Kashmir, Punjab, Rajasthan, and Gujarat. The India Pakistan Border is quite intriguing. Since India has installed 1,50,000 flood lights on… Read More...
Which Places in India Still Largely Speak Sanskrit?Sanskrit is considered as Dev Bhasha, the language of Gods. It has a history of around 3500 years. It used to be a primary language of ancient India. Its earliest form Vedic Sanskrit, was prevalent from 1500 500 BCE. However, it is fading… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow editorialcalls.org for border and boundary demarcations