Gwalior Municipal Corporation

The Gwalior Municipal Corporation or the Gwalior Nagar Nigam was established in 1887 as a local governing body. The Council of Regency conceived the body for the administration of the estate of Gwalior, locally.

Primarily, Gwalior Municipal Corporation came into existence to look after the infrastructural development of the city of Gwalior. The establishment functions under the Municipal Law of 1911. The Gwalior Municipality underwent major restructuring in the month of May, 1983.

The Municipal Corporation of Gwalior addresses the problems of the denizens of Gwalior and takes necessary steps as may be required. The institution's area of concern includes the Fire Brigade, Property, Gardens, Zoo, Revenue, Building Permission, Colony Layout, Pension, Property, Accounts, Death, Birth, Central, Payroll, Purchase, Complaints, City Planning and Sanitation.

The Gwalior Municipal Corporation provides the necessary basic amenities for the dwellers of the Gwalior city. It looks after the water supply, sewerage, drainage facilities, power supply and the like. Headed by the Commissioner, an elected body of members, including the Mayor, presides over the functions of this establishment. The present body was nominated in the year 2004There are 60 elected councilors and 6 government nominated members in the corporation.

The Gwalior Municipal Corporation also takes care of the weaker sections of society like the women, unemployed youth, aged, orphans, the physically or the mentally challenged, poor and homeless. It works for the provision of health benefits, recreational means, and for imparting vocational training to the youth for self employment.

Last Updated on 16th Oct 2012



Which state is the largest producer of uranium in India? The state of Andhra Pradesh is the largest producer of uranium in India. Tummalapalle village located in the Kadapa district of Andhra Pradesh is considered as one of… Read More...
Which Indian state produces the maximum wind power? The production of power from wind energy has considerably increased in the recent years. Very recently in June this year, India became the fourth largest country with 34.293 gigawatt of… Read More...
Which Indian state is the largest producer of diamonds? Madhya Pradesh is the only state with a diamond mine in the country as well as in Asia. During the year 2017-18, Madhya Pradesh has produced 28,424 carats of diamonds (up to December… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow for border and boundary demarcations