Timeline of Indian history

Interactive Map of India History

History of India is varied and rich. It has its share of joys and sorrows and yet has marched proudly with the times and has come up a winner in the modern times. Indian history is made up of many cultures of the rulers who invaded India and expanded their empire here.

Timeline Ancient India

The Indian subcontinent in the ancient times comprised of Pakistan, Bangladesh, Nepal, Tibet and Myanmar. It was home to complex civilization and has been into existence for more than 5,000 years. The timeline of ancient India spans from 3300 to 500 BCE.

The beginning of the Indus valley civilization can be dated back to 3000BC. Harappa cities were established 2500 BC. Around 2000 BC began the decline of the Indus valley civilization. In the 1600 BC, the Aryans drove away the Dravidians and lived here hence after. They started the use of iron tools around 1100 BC. Rig Veda is supposed to be the important holy scripture of ancient India and was composed during the 1000 BC. The Indo-Aryans conquered the whole of north India from Indus and Ganges and ruled over 16 states. Later in the 700 BC the caste system started taking shape and declared Brahmans as the highest class. During the 527BC Prince Siddhartha Gautama attains enlightenment and becomes Buddha, which then becomes one of the major religions in India and abroad and after a few years, Prince Mahavira founded Jainism in 500 BC. In the same period we can see the rise of Maurya dynasty. The Gupta era sees a downfall in the period of 528 AD.

Timeline Medieval India

1290 AD, Jalal ud-din Firuz establishes his sultanate at Delhi and here begins the rule of the Mughul Empire in India. Thereafter many Mughal rulers ruled India. 1343 AD saw the southern kingdom build the capital at Vijaynagar. They took over the Mughal sultanate of Madura. Babur invades India in 1497 and establishes in India. His son takes over the kingdom after his death in 1530. Later Akbar becomes the king and is supposed to have had a very prosperous kingdom till his death and is considered as one of the greatest rulers of medieval India. His son Jahangir takes over in 1605. It has been stated, during the 1611 AD, many foreign rulers came to India including the East India Company to trade and established their empire here. In 1627 a Hindu King Shivaji of the Maratha Kingdom establishes in the Northern and western part of India. 1631 AD is famous for the building of Taj Mahal that was built during the period of Shah Jahan. But in 1658 AD Aurangzeb seizes power and takes over from his father and sends him to exile. Aurangzeb died in 1701 thus ending the Mughul era.