Maharajas of Indore

The Maharajas of Indore were the scion of one of the most distinguished royal families in India. Indore was founded by one Nandlal Rao Chaudhary near the banks of the river Saraswati. But the clan which ruled over Indore was founded by Malhar Rao Holkar who was previously one of the chieftains of the Maratha Peshwas.

Malhar Rao Holkar was given the command of the Maratha forces of Malwa in 1724. By 1733 he was made the governor of the entire province of Malwa. By that time, the Maratha Peshwas were losing their grip and their chieftains were breaking away to form empires of their own. Among the chieftains, the Holkars, the Scindhias and the Gaekwads deserve special mention.

Maharaja Malhar Rao Holkar can be rightly called as the first Maharaja of Indore. He founded a dynasty the descendants of which exist even today. His successors, in chronological order, are
  • Maharaja Malle Rao, 1764-1766
  • Rajmata Ahalya Bai, 1765-1795
  • Maharaja Tukoji Holkar, 1795-1798
  • Maharaja Yeshwant Rao, 1798-1811
  • Maharaja Malhar Rao (II), 1811-1834
  • Maharaja Martand Rao, 1834
  • Maharaja Hari Rao, 1834-1843
  • Maharaja Khande Rao, 1843-1844
  • Maharaja Tukoji Rao (II), 1844-1886
  • Maharaja Shivaji Rao, 1886-1903
  • Maharaja Sir Tukoji Rao (III) Holkar, 1903-1926
  • Maharaja Sir Yeshwant Rao (II) Holkar, 1926-1961
  • Maharani Ushadevi Holkar, 1961- Present
Among these rulers, Rajmata Ahilya Bai deserves special mention. She overcame internal strifes and stigmas to become a female monarch in a male dominated society and she steadfastly resisted the British. Maharaja Sir Yeshwant Rao (II) Holkar was instrumental in giving up his sovereign right on the throne and integrating the state of Indore with India.

A glimpse at the history of Indore is an eye opener on the glorious Holkar rule and enlightens readers about Indore's past.

Last Updated on 29th Nov 2012



Which is the longest National Highway in India?Previously known as National Highway 7, National Highway 44 (NH 44) is the longest-running National Highway in India. It is 3,745 km long and covers the North-South Corridor of NHDP. It starts from Srinagar in the north and ends in Kanyakumari in the south. NH-44… Read More...
Which Indian state is the largest producer of silk?Karnataka is the largest producer of silk in India. The state produces an average of around 8,200 metric tonnes of silk every year, which is about one-third of the total silk production in India. Up to November 2017, Karnataka has produced 5,962 metric tonnes of… Read More...
Which is India's poorest state? As per the National Family Health Survey 2015-16 (NFHS-4), Bihar is India's poorest state with 43 percent incidence of Multidimensional Poverty (MDP) and having more than 50% households in the bottom wealth quintile. Despite India being… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow for border and boundary demarcations