Indore Municipal Corporation

The administration of all urban matters in the city of Indore lies under the jurisdiction of the Indore Municipal Corporation, a council whose works sheds light about Indore's urban policies. The Indore Municipal Corporation on the other hand adheres to the regulations of the Madhya Pradesh Nagar Palika Nigam Adhiniyam, 1956. The city of Indore is divided into 69 wards that are pigeonholed further into 11 groups in order to facilitate administration. This administration of this council is spearheaded by the mayor who acts as the Chairperson of the council and is elected through direct voting by all the citizens of the concerned municipal area in Indore.

A 10 member body, the Mayor-in-Council, appointed by the Mayor acts as the Advisory Committee of the Corporation. This committee is also headed by the Mayor who is assisted by a group of nine councilors.

One of the principal functions of the Indore Municipal Corporation (IMC) is the construction and maintenance of good roads, drainage and sanitation facilities, water supply, sewage, electricity and street management as well as waste management, disposal and recycling services as mandated by the law. In fact, the Indore state government has been a guaranteer for the Municipal Bond for an expenditure of Rs. 10 crores for the amelioration of the road conditions through private agencies.

The Indore Municipal Corporation is now endeavoring to improve the revenue collection and the property tax assessment methodologies. Another point on their agenda deals with the computerization of bills, rents, licenses, certificates and other records as well as adopting new computerized methods of accounting and automatic generation of bills and statements. A master date bank as well as an Urban Environmental Workbook for Indore city is also imminent.

Corporation Bank

Last Updated on 29th Nov 2012