National Metallurgical Laboratory

The National Metallurgical Laboratory is one of the premier research and development laboratories in the country that have been accorded the distinguished status of a national laboratory. The institute was established by the Council of Scientific and Industrial Research in India, under whose generous patronage a host of national laboratories mushroomed in the Indian subcontinent. The laboratory was formally inaugurated by the then Prime Minister, Pundit Jawaharlal Nehru on 26th November 1950.

National Metallurgical Laboratory was set up with the objective to inculcate a scientific temperament among the citizens of India and promote scientific research and development and thereby earmark the nation's technological advancement. However, the National Metallurgical Laboratory today contributes substantially to the Jamshedpur Economy and Business. The state-of-the-art laboratory is equipped with all modern and high tech gadgets. The selected range of equipments facilitates research on the fundamentals of science as well as applied theories. Extensive research and projects are carries out on minerals, refractories, iron ores as well as ferrous and non ferrous metals, compounds, industrial alloys and amalgams.

The National Metallurgical Laboratory works in collaboration with leading research institutes as well as international agencies that are pioneers in research and development. A lot of stress and attention is given to the long term projects that delve into the fundamentals of science and technology. The laboratory also provides technical assistance, counsel as well as consultancy services to the industries. The laboratory also undertakes the responsibility of scientific investigations and other technical activities that are beyond the scope of the Government Test House.

Last Updated on 24/06/2013