Jharkhand Politics

Jharkhand politics has been at the center of interest right from early days of the state's creation, following its breakaway form Bihar in 2000. Politics in Jharkhand has an old history. It has been the site of many tribal revolutions right from the British days and it was a similar kind of insurgence that led to the creation of the independent state of Jharkhand.

However, modern day Jharkhand politics feature an electoral system, divided between the assembly and parliamentary constituencies of the state, where many political parties compete for power. In fact, Jharkhand politics feature a number of political parties virtually unmatched by any other state in India.

Jharkhand Constituencies

Jharkhand has 14 parliamentary constituencies and as many as 81 assembly constituencies, distributed over the 12 districts of the state. The winners from the parliamentary constituencies go on to represent the state in the lower house of India's bicameral legislative structure and the winners form the assembly constituencies and become member of the state legislative assembly. The 2005 assembly elections saw a wing by the BJP led NDA coalition, defeating the UPA coalition, led by the INC. The result was seen to be consistent with the results of the 2004 general elections in India. The results of the general elections in Jharkhand were not concurrent with the large scale anti-incumbency felt across India that brought the UPA to power. The success was accorded to a large degree of popularity of the JMM, the state party in the politics of Jharkhand.

Political Parties in Jharkhand

Jharkand elections see the participation of many national, state and registered political parties. Almost all national level parties take interest in Jharkhand politics. Indian National Congress (INC), Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and Communist Party of India (CPI) are some of the most prominent presence of national parties in Jharkhand politics. Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) is the largest of the state level political parties. Many of the regional parties, which are registered but with minimum political impact as of now, also take a keen interest in the politics at Jharkhand.

Last Updated on : 1 July 2013



Which States Share Boundary with China?India, in total, shares land borders with 6 sovereign countries. China is one of those. Below are the Indian states which share borders with the country. 1. Jammu and Kashmir This northern state of India is mostly located in the Himalayan mountains. It shares a… Read More...
Which States Share Boundaries with Pakistan? There are four states that share a border with Pakistan, namely, Jammu and Kashmir, Punjab, Rajasthan, and Gujarat. The India Pakistan Border is quite intriguing. Since India has installed 1,50,000 flood lights on… Read More...
Which Places in India Still Largely Speak Sanskrit?Sanskrit is considered as Dev Bhasha, the language of Gods. It has a history of around 3500 years. It used to be a primary language of ancient India. Its earliest form Vedic Sanskrit, was prevalent from 1500 500 BCE. However, it is fading… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow editorialcalls.org for border and boundary demarcations