Jharkhand Ministers and MPs

Jharkhand Government

Jharkhand ministers and Jharkhand MPs address the problems of the state at two different levels. While the Jharkhand ministers are a part of the executive council of Jharkhand and look after the smooth functioning of the various departments of the state, the Jharkhand MPs are a part of the Lower House of the Indian legislative, of the bicameral central legislative body of India.

However, both the Jharkhand ministers and Jharkhand MPs work for the betterment of the state through progress in various spheres.

Ministers of Jharkhand

Jharkhand ministers, among the ministers and MPs of Jharkhand are chosen from among the members of the legislative assembly, from among the ruling party or the ruling coalition.

The council of ministers in Jharkhand has strength of 11 cabinet ministers looking after the various departments of the state's governance.

Given below is the list of the various Jharkhand ministers along with their respective offices:

Shri. Rajendra Prasad SinghFinance (Institutional Finance & National Savings), Commercial Tax, Energy, Health, Medical Education & Family Welfare, Parliamentary Affairs
Smt. Annapurna DeviWater Resources, Social Welfare, Women & Child Development, Registration
Shri. Champai SorenWelfare, Transport, Industry
Shri. Saimon MarandiFood, Public Distribution & Consumer Affair, Rural Work, N. R. E. P
Shri. Hazi Hussain AnsariBuilding Construction, Minority Welfare, Co-operative
Shri. Suresh PaswanTourism, Urban Development
Smt. Geetashree OraonHuman Resource Development, Art, Culture, Sports & Youth Affairs
Shri. Jai Prakash Bhai PatelDrinking Water and Sanitation, Excise
Shri. Chandra Sekhar DubeyRural Development, Panchayati Raj, Labour, Employment and Training
Shri. Mannan MallickAnimal Husbandry & Fisheries, Disaster Management
Shri. Yogendra SavAgriculture & Sugarcane Development, Housing

MPs of Jharkhand

Jharkhand MPs are elected from the fourteen parliamentary constituencies of the state. A list of the Jharkhand MPs with their respective constituencies and parties are provided below:

Name of the MPParliamentary ConstituencyPolitical Party
Devidhan BesraRajmahalBJP
Shibu SorenDumkaJMM
Nishikant DubeyGoddaBJP
Inder Singh NamdhariChatraInd.
Babulal MarandiKodarmaJVM
Ravindra Kumar PandeyGiridihBJP
Pashupati Nath SinghDhanbadBJP
Subodh Kant SahayRanchiINC
Ajay KumarJamshedpurJVM
Madhu KodaSinghbhumInd.
Karia MundaKhuntiBJP
Sudarshan BhagatLohardagaBJP
Kameshwar BaithaPalamauJMM
Yashwant SinhaHazaribaghBJP

Jharkhand administration is comprised of a legislative body of 81 members of the legislative assembly. A council of 11 cabinet ministers works under the supervision of the chief minister in order to look after the operations of the various departments of the state. The administration of Jharkhand is chosen through a democratic electoral process. The last assembly elections were held in 2009, when the NDA seized power to defeat the UPA by a wide margin.

Jharkhand Executive

Jharkhand executive is headed by the chief minister. On July 13, 2013 Hemant Soren has sworn as the new Chief Minister of the state. Former CM, Arjun Munda had resigned on 8th January 2013. A council of ministers looks after the smooth workings of the various departments responsible for the governance of the state. There are 11 cabinet ministers presently who form the council of ministers in Jharkhand government. The bureaucratic set up is strong, as the officers involved in various directorate and secretariat offices look after the workings of their respective departments. The Jharkhand High Court is the apex body of the judicial wing of the Jharkhand administration.

Jharkhand Legislative

Jharkhand legislative is going through its first legislative session. The tenure is for five years, unless certain inevitable situation causes it to be dissolved prior to the stipulated time. The legislative of Jharkhand is the supreme law giving body. Jharkhand legislative is a unicameral body with 81 members to the legislative assembly, chosen from the 81 assembly constituencies of the state, through an electoral process. The legislative in Jharkhand operates through three sessions as in other legislative councils of the state, budget, monsoon and winter.

Key Figures in the Jharkhand Legislative

The legislative council of Jharkhand works under the ultimate supervision of the governor of the state, Sri Syed Ahmed. He is the representative of the president in the state. Appointed by the center, he is the supreme legislative authority in the state. The proceedings of the house are conducted by the honorable speaker of the house, the post currently held by Sri Chandreshwar Prasad Singh.

Members of the Jharkhand Legislative Assembly

The members of the Jharkhand legislative assembly are elected from the assembly constituencies of the state. There are a total of 81 seats in the Jharkhand legislative assembly,

Last Updated on : January 24, 2014