Jallikattu (Taming the Bull)

As a part of Pongal celebrations on the Mattu Pongal day (the third day of the four day long Pongal festival) Jallikattu is a cattle/bull taming ritual held in different villages of Tamil Nadu. Held from January to July, every year; Jallikattu involves the process of tying gold or silver coins to the horns of the bulls as the prize money. Some of the well-known cattle breeds used for Jallikattu include Kangeyam, Puliyakulam, Palamalai and Alambadi. This ancient sport witnesses participants consisting of native cattle breeders.

The Supreme Court has refused to lift the ban on Tamil Nadu's popular and controversial bull taming sport called Jallikattu. Continuously opposed by the animal right activists, the sport is held for celebrating the winter harvest. By fixing the next hearing for March 2016, the Supreme Court has effectively ruled out confusions revolving the organization of the sport this year.

Jallikattu (Taming the Bull) is celebrated in Madurai in the month of January. It is associated with the Pongal celebrations and is also known as Manju Virattu. This festival of Madurai is celebrated with a lot of pomp and show. Jalikattu is held in an open space, where people of the neighboring villages gather to watch the fighting of the bulls. It is generally held in Alanganallur. Jallikattu is also held in Palemedu, near Madurai.

During this festival, an agitated bull is set free in an open space with several people try to tame the animal. On many instances, more than one bull are also let loose in the field. It is noteworthy that only men are allowed to participate in Jallikattu (Taming the Bull). Women are exempted from participating the festival. The winner of the Jallikattu is given a prize, which is generally tied to the bull's horns. It is interesting to note that the game was initially used by the women of the region to find a suitor. According to the legend, suitable grooms were selected on this occasion.

Last Updated on : January 13, 2016



Which States Share Boundary with China?India, in total, shares land borders with 6 sovereign countries. China is one of those. Below are the Indian states which share borders with the country. 1. Jammu and Kashmir This northern state of India is mostly located in the Himalayan mountains. It shares a… Read More...
Which States Share Boundaries with Pakistan? There are four states that share a border with Pakistan, namely, Jammu and Kashmir, Punjab, Rajasthan, and Gujarat. The India Pakistan Border is quite intriguing. Since India has installed 1,50,000 flood lights on… Read More...
Which Places in India Still Largely Speak Sanskrit?Sanskrit is considered as Dev Bhasha, the language of Gods. It has a history of around 3500 years. It used to be a primary language of ancient India. Its earliest form Vedic Sanskrit, was prevalent from 1500 500 BCE. However, it is fading… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow editorialcalls.org for border and boundary demarcations