Mangalore Government

Mangalore is an important city in the Indian state of Karnataka. It ranks as the main harbor city in the state. This port city is situated at a distance of approximately 220 miles or 350 km from the capital city of the state. Mangalore lies to the west of Bengaluru. The city serves as the government headquarters of the Dakshina Kannada district in the southwestern part of the state. Previously, the Dakshina Kannada District was known as South Canara district.

Mangalore Government: Civic administration of Mangalore

The Mangalore City Corporation or MCC has the responsibility of looking after the city of Mangalore and its municipal affairs. The civic boundaries of the city start with Mukka to the north and extend from the western sea beaches to Vamanjoor to the east and to the Netravati river bridge to the south.

The Mangalore City Corporation consists of 60 elected representatives and all of them are known as corporators. These representatives are elected from their respective wards or localities in the city.

The elections for the Mangalore City Corporation take place once after every five years and the outcomes are determined according to the popular vote. One of the corporators from the political party gaining majority is chosen as mayor of the city. The administrative headquarters of the municipal corporation are located in Lalbagh. The sub offices of the municipal corporation are located in Bikarnakatta and Surathkal. The civic area of the city encompassed a total area of 28.46 sq miles or 73.71 km2.

Important city officials in Mangalore

The important city officials in Mangalore are as follows:
  • Praveen Kumar - Mayor of the city
  • A.S. Rao - Superintendent of Police
  • Geetha N Nayak - Deputy mayor of the city

Mangalore Lok Sabha Constituency

The Mangalore Lok Sabha or Parliamentary Constituency was one of the parliamentary constituencies in the state of Karnataka. With the enforcement of delimitation of Lok Sabha constituencies in 2008, this Lok Sabha Constituency does not exist any more. This has been performed in accordance with the suggestions made by the Delimitation Commission of India.

Assembly segments of Mangalore Lok Sabha Constituency

The assembly divisions of the Mangalore Lok Sabha Constituency were as follows:
  • Madikere
  • Virajpet
  • Sullia
  • Somwarpet
  • Vittal
  • Puttur
  • Ullal
  • Mangalore

Members of Parliament representing Mangalore Lok Sabha Constituency

Given below are the names of the members of parliament (MPs) who represented the Mangalore Lok Sabha Constituency:
Year Name Political Party
1957 K. R. Achar Indian National Congress
1962 A. Shanker Alva Indian National Congress
1967:00:00 C. M. Poonacha Indian National Congress
1971:00:00 K. K. Shetty Indian National Congress
1977:00:00 Janardhana Poojary Indian National Congress
1980:00:00 Janardhana Poojary Indian National Congress
1984 Janardhana Poojary Indian National Congress
1989 Janardhana Poojary Indian National Congress
1991 V. Dhananjay Kumar Bharatiya Janata Party
1996 V. Dhananjay Kumar Bharatiya Janata Party
1999:00:00 V. Dhananjay Kumar Bharatiya Janata Party
2004:00:00 D. V. Sadananda Gowda Bharatiya Janata Party

Till the time the amendment of the assembly constituencies and Lok Sabha constituencies in the state took place, there were two Members of Parliament from the Mangalore City. One member of parliament represented the northern section of the city and another represented the southern section of the city. The northern section of the city came under the Udupi Lok Sabha Constituency. Furthermore, the city designated three MLAs or members of the legislative assembly. With the amendment taking place, the whole taluka of Mangalore comes under the jurisdiction of the Dakshina Kannada Lok Sabha Constituency. As a consequence, there is only a single Member of Parliament representing the Mangalore Lok Sabha Constituency.

Law and order in Mangalore

The responsibility of maintaining the law and order situation in Mangalore is entrusted with the Dakshina Kannada Police. A Commissioner of Police has been appointed to lead the division. The city also serves as the headquarters of the Western Range Police, serving the districts of western Karnataka and the Western Range Police is led by the Inspector General of Police.

Last Updated on 02 November 2011