SAARC Country Map

SAARC Nation Map

SAARC Nation Map
Email   Buy Now
* The Map showing SAARC member countries.

Disclaimer: All efforts have been made to make this image accurate. However Compare Infobase Limited and its directors do not own any responsibility for the correctness or authenticity of the same.

What can be seen in a SAARC Countries map?

A map on the SAARC countries generally shows the location and names of the different countries of SAARC on the world map.

What is the full form of SAARC?

SAARC stands for the South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation.

What is SAARC?

This is an economic cum political organization formed of eight South Asian countries. As far as population is concerned, this organization has got the largest field of influence. If the populations of all of its member states are combined together, the population of this organization will amount to around 1.5 billion.

Which countries are included in SAARC?

The countries located in the southern part of the continent of Asia, which form the South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation, are:
  • India
  • Bangladesh
  • Sri Lanka
  • Pakistan
  • Bhutan
  • Maldives
  • Nepal
  • Afghanistan

How was SAARC formed?

The proposal of creating a trade bloc, which will be formed of the countries of South Asia was first put forward by Mr. Ziaur Rahman, the then President of the country of Bangladesh during the late 1970s. In the year 1981, this proposal was accepted by the countries of India, Sri Lanka and Pakistan in a Colombo based meeting. At the time of the Summit held at the Indian capital city of New Delhi during the month of August in 1983, people leading this organization adopted the South Asian Regional Cooperation's Declaration. The South Asian countries of Bhutan, Maldives and Nepal became a part of this organization. Finally, post adoption of its Charter, the organization was set up on 8th December, 1985. After almost 20 years from the establishment of this regional group, the country of Afghanistan joined this organization on 13th November, 2005 as per the request of India.

What were the main objectives behind forming SAARC?

During the initial phase, prior to the joining of Afghanistan, the five basic areas, on which the seven countries of SAARC agreed to be cooperative of are as follows:
  • Development of human resources
  • Meteorology, science, technology and telecommunications
  • Population and health related activities
  • Rural and agricultural development
  • Transport

For More Details Explore: Asia Map

Last Updated on 05 January 2011



Which States Share Boundary with China?India, in total, shares land borders with 6 sovereign countries. China is one of those. Below are the Indian states which share borders with the country. 1. Jammu and Kashmir This northern state of India is mostly located in the Himalayan mountains. It shares a… Read More...
Which States Share Boundaries with Pakistan? There are four states that share a border with Pakistan, namely, Jammu and Kashmir, Punjab, Rajasthan, and Gujarat. The India Pakistan Border is quite intriguing. Since India has installed 1,50,000 flood lights on… Read More...
Which Places in India Still Largely Speak Sanskrit?Sanskrit is considered as Dev Bhasha, the language of Gods. It has a history of around 3500 years. It used to be a primary language of ancient India. Its earliest form Vedic Sanskrit, was prevalent from 1500 500 BCE. However, it is fading… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow for border and boundary demarcations