Kerala Political Parties

The Kerala Government is chosen by regular polls held in the state. This allows for the direct representatives of the people to be part of the legislature. Thus it is to the popular opinion that the process of law making is subservient. The ideal of universal suffrage allows every adult and capable citizen of the state to cast a vote in favor of his /her preferred candidate.

The citizens of this state cast their vote in favor of that candidate whose political ideologies are supported by them. In order to get a clear idea of the prospective leaders political ideals, the candidate's political party is examined.

In India political parties have been formed to protect the interests of various factions of people subscribing to various religions, communities, social, cultural, economic and political ideologies. To ensure that no group goes unrepresented in the legislative process, different political parties have been formed and are registered with the Election Commission.

A party that is recognized in 4 or more states is called a national party and that which is localized to 3 or less states is called a state party. The election commission assigns symbols to represent these parties. The national parties have permanent symbols.

It is the party that gains the popular support that forms the ruling party and the Governor invites the leader of the ruling party to form the Government. The Opposition too elects a leader. This Chief Minister is sworn in by the Governor of the state and also chooses the various leaders of his party to head the various ministries of the Government.

Together they constitute the executive of the government. Currently in Kerala, there is a coalition (LDF) of various parties that rules the state and the Chief Minister, Mr. V.S. Achuthanandan belongs to CPI(M) The Opposition consists of the Congress I led (UDF) .

Maps Of India brings you a list of the National Parties of Kerala which have made their presence felt on a national basis. These parties try to build up a national character and assimilate the experiences and agendas. Also Maps Of India brings you a guide through the State Parties of Kerala which lend support to the regional interests of the state.

Last Updated on : 12/31/2012



Which is the longest National Highway in India?Previously known as National Highway 7, National Highway 44 (NH 44) is the longest-running National Highway in India. It is 3,745 km long and covers the North-South Corridor of NHDP. It starts from Srinagar in the north and ends in Kanyakumari in the south. NH-44… Read More...
Which Indian state is the largest producer of silk?Karnataka is the largest producer of silk in India. The state produces an average of around 8,200 metric tonnes of silk every year, which is about one-third of the total silk production in India. Up to November 2017, Karnataka has produced 5,962 metric tonnes of… Read More...
Which is India's poorest state? As per the National Family Health Survey 2015-16 (NFHS-4), Bihar is India's poorest state with 43 percent incidence of Multidimensional Poverty (MDP) and having more than 50% households in the bottom wealth quintile. Despite India being… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow for border and boundary demarcations