Brahmaputra River Map

Route Map of River Brahmaputra

separator Click here for Customized Maps arrow custom map
Route Map of River Brahmaputra
Print Email Save Buy Now 
* Route map of river Brahmaputra along with its tributaries. Disclaimer
The mighty Brahmaputra River, which is one of the largest rivers in the world, is known by different names based on the region it flows through. In Hindi, Brahmaputra, literally means, 'the son of Brahma' who is one of the supreme divinity in Hinduism - Brahma, Vishnu, Mahesh; it is also known as Tsangpo (Purifier inTibetan). It is a trans-boundary river and one of the most important rivers of India. The Brahmaputra Rivers usually include the Tista, Subansiri, Tsang-Po, and Jamuna (Bangladesh) - which is not the same as Yamuna of India.

Rivers in India are considered feminine and also named so, but Brahmaputra is considered a male river based on many mythological stories associated with it. However the masculinity ends when it reaches Bangladesh where it is given a feminine name, Meghna.

About the Brahmaputra

Brahmaputra River has its source in southwest Tibet. It flows there with the name Yarlung Tsangpo River (flowing from the crest/ summit). The river runs across south Tibet to penetrate the Himalayan mountain ranges in huge canyons and subsequently into Arunachal Pradesh (India). In Arunachal Pradesh, it is called as Dihang. The river runs to the southwest across the Assam Basin as Brahmaputra and towards the south through Bangladesh as the Jamuna (you should not confuse it with Yamuna of India). In this territory, it fuses with the Ganga to create a huge delta, which is known as the Sunderbans.

The overall length of the Brahmaputra River is approximately 1,800 miles (2,900 km). The river is a major resource for shipping and water supply. The upper route/ course of the river was not known for an extensive period of time, and it was believed to source from Chemayungdung Glacier; only after a geographic expedition in 1884-86 was it known that Angsi Glacier in Tibet Autonomous Region was the source of Brahmaputra. On many occasions, the river is named as Tsangpo-Brahmaputra River. The Brahmaputra River collectively refers to the Brahmaputra and its major tributaries such as Tista, Subansiri, Tsang-Po, and Jamuna.

The average depth of the Brahmaputra River is 124 feet (38 meters) and utmost depth is 380 feet (120 meters). The Brahmaputra River fuses with the Ganges in Bangladesh and bifurcates into two: the Meghna and Padma River.

The Brahmaputra River is passable for the majority of its span. The lower portion of the river basin is holy to Hindus. The Brahmaputra River is disaster-prone in spring, when the snow on the Himalayan mountain ranges dissolves. The average flow of the river is around 19,300 cubic meters/sec.(680,000 cubic foot/sec). Inundation levels can attain more than 100,000 cubic meters/sec. (3,500,000 cubic foot/sec.). The Brahmaputra River is also one of the limited numbers of rivers in the world that display a tidal bore; which can be defined as 'a tidal phenomenon in which the leading edge of the incoming tide forms a wave (or waves) of water that travel up a river against the direction of the current.' A Tidal bore causes intense turbulence in the water and may be dangerous leading to sudden increase in water level and flooding.


The Brahmaputra divides into two branches in Bangladesh, the much bigger division moves on to the south and the name of the branch is Jamuna (Jomuna). It pours into the Lower Ganges, locally known as Padma (Podda). At the same time, the older tributary bends to the southeast with the name Bromhoputro (lower Brahmaputra) and pours into the Meghna. Both courses ultimately meet again close to Chandpur and pour into the Bay of Bengal. Nevertheless, about 250 years back, the Brahmaputra River essentially traversed the Mymensingh and Jamalpur districts, a huge earthquake resulted in its current itinerary. Supplied by the waters of the Brahmaputra and the Ganges, this river system creates the Ganges Delta, which is the biggest river delta in the world.


Inundations are a regular feature of this river during the monsoon months (June-October). Cutting down of trees in the Brahmaputra catchment basin has led to higher degree of deposit, flash floods, and land corrosion in vital downstream locales like the Kaziranga National Park in central Assam. Sporadically, huge levels of inundation result in large-scale damages to life, food grains, and properties. Intermittent deluging is a common occurrence, which is environmentally significant since it assists in preserving the plain grasslands and connected flora and fauna. Sporadic deluges also silt new alluvial soil refilling the productive soil of the Brahmaputra River Basin. Hence inundation, cultivation, and farming operations are directly associated.

Navigation and conveyance

Till India became independent in 1947, the Brahmaputra River was utilized as an important shipping canal. In the 1990s, the length amid Dhubri and Sadiya in India was proclaimed as National Waterway No.2, and it offers facilities for freight carriage. Over the past few years, a small growth in the number of river tours has been noticed with the launch of the cruise liner, "Charaidew," by Assam Bengal Navigation.

Cooperation on the Brahmaputra Rivers

The waters of the Brahmaputra River are distributed among China, Bangladesh, and India. Also, there is possibility for China, Bangladesh, and India to build up hydroelectric power projects and water passage across the borders.

Tributaries of Brahmaputra


Tista or Teesta is one of the important rivers in northeast India. The river is located in the state of Sikkim in India. It is stated to be the lifeline of Sikkim, running through nearly the whole stretch of the state. On its itinerary, the river forms the lush green moderate and humid river basins of the Himalayan mountain ranges. The colour of the waters of this river is emerald green and the river creates the boundary between West Bengal and Sikkim prior to meeting the Brahmaputra in the form of a tributary in Bangladesh. The overall length of the Tista River is 315 km (196 miles). A number of Dams have been proposed on the river. The Tista River has its source in the Cholomo Lake in northern Sikkim. Subansiri

The Subansiri River is the biggest tributary of the Upper Brahmaputra. Also called the Gold River; Subansiri is the lifeline for a large number of people living in Dhemaji and Lakhimpur districts and a broad variety of biodiversity, which includes the imperilled Gangetic dolphin. The river moves down through the green tropical rainforest in Arunachal Pradesh. River rafting is a popular adventure sport on the Subansiri River.


Tsang-Po River is also known as Yarlung Zango River. It is one of the major tributaries of the Brahmaputra River. The river has its origin in South Tibet. After originating from the South Tibet basin, the river traverses Arunachal Pradesh and the name of the river in this state is Dihang. Kayaking is a popular adventure sports activity on the waters of this river.


The Jamuna is one of the key tributaries of the Brahmaputra River. It is also one of the three major rivers in Bangladesh. The river meets the Padma River in Bangladesh. After fusing with the Meghna River, the river pours into the Bay of Bengal as the Meghna River.

Last Updated on : March 13, 2020