Who wins who loses in Lok Sabha Elections 2014?

Lok Sabha Election Results

Lok Sabha Election Results

The results are out, and exit polls were right to a great extent this time. The Bharatiya Janata Party’s Mission 272+ is a success. The NDA won 336 seats, the UPA 58 and others 144 seats. After the big day, round table discussions are going on about who wins who loses and all the related whys. Here is a brief list of who did extremely well and whose dreams were shattered in the Lok Sabha elections 2014.

Winners of Lok Sabha Elections 2014

Narendra Modi, the next PM (BJP) – Won from Vadodara as well as Varanasi. From Vadodara, he won by 5.70 lakh voters whereas in Varanasi the margin was of 53,000 votes.

L K Advani (BJP) – Won from Gandhinagar by a margin of 4,63,121 votes. He got elected for the sixth time from the same seat.

Rajnath Singh (BJP) – Won from Lucknow.

B S Yeddyurappa (BJP) – Won from Shimoga.

Varun Gandhi (BJP) – Won from Sultanpur.

Maneka Gandhi (BJP) – Won from Pilibhit

Nitin Gadkari (BJP) – Won from Nagpur by 83,078 votes.

Sushma Swaraj (BJP) – Won from Vidisha.

General V K Singh (BJP) – Won from Ghaziabad.

D.V. Sadananda Gowda (BJP) – Won from Bangalore North.

Nitin Gadkari (BJP) – Won from Nagpur.

Yogi Adityanath (BJP) – Won from Gorakhpur.

Uma Bharti (BJP) – Won from Jhansi.

Hema Malini (BJP) – Won from Mathura.

Murli Manmohar Joshi (BJP) – Won from Kanpur.

BS Yeddyurappa (BJP) – Won from Shimoga.

Yashwant Singh (BJP) – Won from Nagina.


Sonia Gandhi (Congress) – Won from Rae Bareli by 3.50 lakh votes.

Rahul Gandhi (Congress) – Won from Amethi by 78,431 votes.

Shashi Tharoor (Congress)– Won from Thiruvananthapuram.

Ashok Chavan (Congress) – Former Maharashtra chief minister, Won from Nanded.

Kamal Nath (Congress) – Won from Chhindwara.

Captain Amarinder Singh (Congress) – Won from Amritsar.

Jyotiraditya Scindia (Congress) – Won from Guna.


Mulayam Singh (Samajwadi Party) – Won from Mainpuri.

Supriya Sule (NCP) – Won from Baramati.

K Chandrasekhar Rao (Telangana Rashtra Samithi) – Won from Medak.


Losers of Lok Sabha Elections 2014

Smiriti Irani (BJP) – Lost from Amethi.

Arun Jaitley (BJP) – Lost from Amritsar.


Sanjay Nirupam (Congress) – Lost from Mumbai North.

Meira Kumar (Congress) – Former Lok Sabha Speaker, lost from Sasaram.

Nandan Nilekani (Congress) – Lost from south Bangalore.

Salman Khurshid (Congress) – Lost from Farrukhabad.

Priya Dutt (Congress) – Lost from Mumbai North.

Sushil Kumar Shinde (Congress) – Home Minister, lost from Solapur.

Kapil Sibal (Congress) – Lost from Chandni Chowk.

Ajay Maken (Congress) – Lost from New Delhi.

Sachin Pilot (Congress) – Lost from Ajmer.

Raj Babbar (Congress) – Lost from Ghaziabad.

Naveen Jindal (Congress) – Lost from Kurukshetra.

Ghulam Nabi Azad (Congress) – Lost from Udhampur.


Arvind Kejriwal (AAP) – Lost from Varanasi.

Yogendra Yadav (AAP) – Lost from Gurgaon.

Anjali Damania (AAP) – Lost from Nagur.

Kumar Vishwas (AAP) – Lost from Amethi.

Ashutosh (AAP) – Lost from Chandni Chowk.

Raj Mohan Gandhi (AAP) – Lost from East Delhi.


Ajit Singh (RLD) – Lost from Baghpat.

Rabri Devi (RJD) – Lost from Saran.

Misa Bharti (RJD) – Lost from Patliputra.


Y S Vijayamma (Y SR Congress) – Mother of Jaganmohan Reddy, lost from Visakhapatnam.

Jaswant Singh (Independent) – Lost from Barmer.

Amar Singh (Rashtriya Lok Dal) – Lost from Fatehpur Sikri.

A Raja (DMK) – Former union minister, lost from Nilgris.

Farooq Abdullah (National Conference) – Lost from Srinagar.

Ajit Singh (Rashtriya Lok Dal) – Lost from Bhagpat, Uttar Pradesh.

Praful Patel (Nationalist Congress Party) – Lost from Bhandara-Gondiya.