Home/ 2018 Assembly Elections

2018 Assembly Elections

December 12, 2018
Telangana voted decisively for K Chandrashekar Rao

Telangana has voted and decisively in favour of K Chandrashekar Rao of Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) for the second term in office. The results haven’t come as a surprise despite the last-minute challenge mounted by the Chandrababu Naidu-led TDP and Congress alliance – the Mahakutami. The final results: Total Seats: 119 Party Seats Number of Votes Vote Share Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) 88 9,700,749 46.9% Indian National Congress (INC) 19  5,883,111 28.4% All India Council [...]Read More

December 12, 2018
Mizoram assembly elections

December 16th marks the one-year anniversary of Rahul Gandhi’s presidency of the Indian National Congress (INC). And, what a year it has been! From being called “Pappu” every other day, to becoming what many term as a “serious threat to Modi in 2019”, Gandhi has come a long way. On December 11th, results were declared for Legislative assembly elections of five states, and Congress came out as the obvious show-stealer. It managed to snatch 3 [...]Read More

December 12, 2018
Surprising defeat of the 15 year old government of BJP in Chhattisgarh

BJP’s surprising loss in three significant states has sounded the alarm bells for the party. While the Modi magic has been ruling the country since 2014, many believe the invincibility is now starting to wear off. With the 2019 General Elections just a few months away, it looks like Modi’s “good days” (Acche Din, in his words) might be coming to an end. The recent loss is like a trailer of the bigger picture. Dissatisfaction [...]Read More

December 12, 2018
Congress beats BJP in a close fight in Madhya Pradesh

The results of the 2018 Assembly elections in Madhya Pradesh is out, and the Indian National Congress (INC) has beaten the Shivraj Singh Chouhan Singh-led BJP to emerge with maximum seats – 114 out of a total of 230 seats. The final results: Total Seats: 230 Party Seats Number of Votes Vote Share Indian National Congress (INC) 114 15,595,153 40.9% Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) 109 15,642,980 41.0% Independent 4 2,218,230 5.8% Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) [...]Read More

December 12, 2018
Vasundhara Raje - Voted Out of Power

The Indian National Congress has managed what a few months back would have seemed impossible – defeated the Vasundhara Raje-led BJP in Rajasthan. Out of a maximum 199 seats, INC won 99 seats, and the BJP ended with 73 seats. The early stages of counting pointed to a rout, but the BJP put up a stronger show to finally close the day with 73 seats. The Congress is set to form the next government in [...]Read More

December 10, 2018
Exit Poll of Mizoram Assembly Elections 2018

On November 28, 2018, the people of Mizoram voted to elect 40 representatives to the Legislative Assembly from 209 contesting candidates. The results will be declared on December 11. The colourful northeastern state takes its democracy seriously, and over 80% turned out to exercise their franchise. The Lal Thanhawla-led Indian National Congress is in power for two consecutive terms from 2008 and faces a strong challenge from an old rival and former two-time CM Zoramthanga [...]Read More

December 10, 2018
Exit Poll of Telangana Assembly Elections 2018

The young state of Telangana voted to elect 119 legislators to the state Assembly on December 7, 2018. The most anticipated question on everyone’s mind in the state and outside of it – is K Chandrashekar Rao’s Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) going to retain power in the state or is the Congress-TDP-led ‘Mahakutami’ going to cause an upset? The Exit Poll of Polls points to TRS retaining power with a majority. Seven exit polls have [...]Read More

December 9, 2018
Exit Poll for Rajasthan Assembly Elections-2018

The people of Rajasthan elected their representatives to 199 seats to the Legislative Assembly on December 7, 2018, and the results will be announced on December 11, 2018. The Exit Poll of Rajasthan points to the Congress winning back with a majority. Seven out of eight exit polls have shown the Congress coming back to power. If true, it will mark a major setback to the BJP. In 2013, Vasundhara Raje led the BJP to [...]Read More

December 9, 2018
Exit Poll for Madhya Pradesh Assembly Elections-2018

Five out of eight Exit Polls point to the Congress holding a slight advantage over the BJP in Madhya Pradesh and could well end up forming the next government. Were that to happen, it would mark a big upset for the BJP where Shivraj Singh Chouhan held sway for three consecutive terms and was expected to roll into a fourth. On November 28, the people of Madhya Pradesh voted to elect 230 representatives to the [...]Read More

December 8, 2018
Exit Poll of Chhattisgarh Election 2018

The people of Chhattisgarh voted to elect their representatives to the state’s 90 Assembly seats on November 12 and 20, 2018. The results will be announced on December 11. So, the big question on everyone’s mind is – will Raman Singh-led BJP retain power or have the people voted for change after electing the incumbent government for three consecutive terms? Political analysts, Psephologists, journalists, and political watchers are all busy concluding the possible outcomes. Several [...]Read More

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow editorialcalls.org for border and boundary demarcations