Home/ Delhi Daredevils

Delhi Daredevils

IPL 8 - An Era of T20 is back

The Indian Premier League has woven such interest and glamour around it that it no more needs an introduction. The 8th edition of IPL with eight teams is all set to kick off on 8 April, right after the ICC World Cup. The IPL has succeeded in keeping its viewers and fans intact. The shorter version draws more and more spectators every year and it will be no different this time. The T20 version is [...]

Kings XI Punjab vs Delhi Daredevils

The 55th match of the Indian Premier League 2014 between the Kings XI Punjab and the Delhi Daredevils at the Punjab Cricket Association Stadium of Mohali, Chandigarh was only going to be of academic interest. There might have been some excitement had Delhi Daredevils been in a position to cause an upset in this game staged on May 25, 2014. However, in the end, events unfolded as expected, and the Delhi Daredevils were crushed to their [...]

Mumbai Indians vs Delhi Daredevils

The Indian Premier League 2014 has been a chastising experience for the Mumbai Indians, as they have not been able to perform as per expectations. However, it is often seen that when such an outfit starts to find its bearings it becomes pretty tough for the other team in question. That is what Delhi Daredevils, which has found itself to be on the wrong end of the bargain in this IPL, found out to their [...]

Kings XI Punjab vs Delhi Daredevils

In a match involving the best team and the team standing last on the leader board, quite often there is a possibility of an upset. However, on May 19 at the Feroz Shah Kotla in Delhi there was no such inspiration for the Delhi Daredevils, who slumped to yet another loss against Kings XI Punjab after being in a position of strength in certain parts of a match. Team composition: Punjab made just a solitary change [...]

RR Vs DD - IPL 2014

The problem with a game that pits a superbly performing side with one that is yet to find its feet is that the contest ends up being one sided, more often than not and this is what exactly happened at the Sardar Patel Stadium in Motera, Ahmedabad on May 15, 2014. Team composition: Both the teams made some changes from their last game, which they both lost. For Rajasthan Ankit Sharma, skipper Shane Watson and [...]

Royal Challengers Bangalore Vs Delhi Daredevils

Before they took on each other at the M. Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bangalore on May 13, 2014, both Royal Challengers Bangalore and Delhi Daredevils had suffered a defeat each in their previous games. So one would have been interested to see how they would cope with their loss. Team composition: Bangalore made as many as three changes to the team that lost the last game against the Rajasthan Royals. They brought back Sachin Rana and [...]

Kolkata Knight Riders Vs Delhi Daredevils - IPL7, 2014

  Before the match on May 7, 2014 started many, including some Kolkata Knight Riders fans, were thinking as to whether the Kolkata franchise would touch Mumbai Indians’ ignominious record of 5 defeats on the trot. The fact that in the end they were able to win against Delhi Daredevils at their home ground Feroz Shah Kotla would have brought much relief to the Kolkata Knight Riders fans as well as the team management and [...]

CSK Vs DD - IPL 2014

On May 6, 2014 when the Delhi Daredevils took on the might of Chennai Super Kings at the Feroz Shah Kotla in Delhi, not many expected the match to be a tense and tight affair that would go till the last over. Defying the traditional conventions of a match that pits an efficient unit with a non performing one, this encounter was decided at the very end with Chennai Super Kings emerging the victors by [...]

RR Vs DD - IPL7 2014

At the end of the UAE phase Rajasthan Royals had stood at 3rd position in the leader board and Delhi Daredevils were at the penultimate position. The game between both the sides at the Feroz Shah Kotla, Delhi on May 3 showed exactly why this was the case. Team composition: Both the teams made changes to the teams that contested in the previous match. Delhi brought in pacer Rahul Sharma for allrounder Laxmi Ratan Shukla [...]

Delhi Daredevils Vs Mumbai Indians

It is said that in cricket, it really does not matter what you have done in the past – all that matters is the present. Last year, Mumbai Indians were the all conquering side having won the IPL as well as the Champions League T20 tournament. This year, before the encounter against Delhi Daredevils at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium on April 27, 2014, Mumbai had played 3 matches but failed to win any one of [...]