Track Your Constituency

India State Assembly Elections 2008

Five of the Indian states - Delhi, Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh and Mizoram - will go for Assembly elections in the month of November and December this year.
The elections will judge the mood of the voters for the India General Elections, scheduled for early next year. The states of Delhi and Mizoram will face the ballot on November 29 whereas for BJP ruled Rajasthan and Madhya Pradesh, the dates of Assembly polls have been fixed to be December 4 and November 25 respectively. The people of Chhattisgarh, one of the Naxalite affected states, will choose their representatives in two phases on November 14 & 20.

Chhattisgarh - The state, led by BJP government, has been facing the heat of Naxalites for quite some time and it will be a major poll issue in the state. The assembly elections here are scheduled for November 14 and 20.

Delhi - The term of the legislative assembly of NCT of Delhi is schedule to expire on 17th December 2008. The state has been ruled by the Congress for the last one decade and Delhi Assembly elections will be test of its popularity.

Madhya Pradesh - The term of the state assembly, with the largest number of seats among the five states, is expiring on December 14, 2008. People of Madhya Pradesh will cast their vote on November 25.

Mizoram - The term of Mizoram legislative assembly is also ending on December 14 and the people here will use their Adult Franchise on November 29, along with Delhizens.

Rajasthan - The second largest state in terms of number of assembly constituencies, among the five states appearing for polls, Rajasthan has BJP government in power. January 14, 2009 is the day when the term of the legislative assembly of the state will expire and elections here are scheduled for December 4, 2008.

Assembly Polls 2008 (Results)

Number of Assembly Constituencies in each state

India State Assembly Elections 2008

  Related Links  


Which States Share Boundary with China?India, in total, shares land borders with 6 sovereign countries. China is one of those. Below are the Indian states which share borders with the country. 1. Jammu and Kashmir This northern state of India is mostly located in the Himalayan mountains. It shares a… Read More...
Which States Share Boundaries with Pakistan? There are four states that share a border with Pakistan, namely, Jammu and Kashmir, Punjab, Rajasthan, and Gujarat. The India Pakistan Border is quite intriguing. Since India has installed 1,50,000 flood lights on… Read More...
Which Places in India Still Largely Speak Sanskrit?Sanskrit is considered as Dev Bhasha, the language of Gods. It has a history of around 3500 years. It used to be a primary language of ancient India. Its earliest form Vedic Sanskrit, was prevalent from 1500 500 BCE. However, it is fading… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow for border and boundary demarcations